RSS Feed

We’re on Vacation

As I’ve said before, I love making cocktails at home. And at other people’s homes as well. ;) While I’ve been on a vacation of sorts myself for the past few weeks, it’s been much nicer last week and this week having Brent to hang out with too. Today we just bummed around town this afternoon browsing at Borders and at the mall before heading to a local bar for dinner. On the way home we stopped at a random bargain bookstore that just popped up in a former Ace Hardware. I’m not sure what the deal with this place was, or if it’s a permanent business or what, but we found a few books there that we had seen at Borders for 3 times the price. So we bought an illustrated bartending book and Saveur Cooks Authentic Italian.

hpim2410_2

The Saveur book looks pretty good. I’ve realized I much prefer cookbooks with pictures. I’m fine without them, but often I hand Brent a stack of my cookbooks to have him skim through to pick out some meal ideas when I’m writing the grocery list, and he never reads the recipes, so pictures are a must for him.I’m looking forward to trying a few of the recipes from it.

The bartending book seems like a lot of fun. I love making cocktails! Brent loves gin & tonics, so I bought him some nice gin as part of his Christmas present. We used that gin to make some fun vacation cocktails tonight: Singapore Slings!

hpim2419

These were made with gin, orange juice, lime juice, grenadine, & club soda. Very tangy. I love being “on vacation.” I think we’re going to go to Chicago to visit some friends for a low-key New Year’s celebration on Wednesday, and I actually start my new job on Friday for some training.

In other notes, my food has been and will continue to be way too boring to post this week because nearly all of it is leftovers from Saturday. Although, I just read in the Saveur book that you can form leftover risotto into thin patties and fry it in a little butter to make risotto cakes, which I think I may try tomorrow for lunch because we have quite a bit of leftover risotto, which is still tasty, but not as wonderful as when eaten immediately. I’ll let you know how those work out if I try that.

2 responses »

  1. Fun!!

    Oooh, definitely make risotto cakes!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

