RSS Feed

Croutons & Soup

As I mentioned, my overnight whole wheat bread is very versatile. One of the things it is perfect for is making croutons. They’re easy to make and I much prefer them to store bought croutons. I like that they are crispy, but still a bit chewy on the inside, and I like to make them heavily seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic. The bread cubes up perfectly. There’s no need to make sure the bread is stale.

hpim2829Once the bread is cubed, heat oil or butter (I like a combination of both) in a large saute pan. The amount you need depends on the amount of croutons you’re making, but about 2 tablespoons is a good general amount. When the oil is nice and hot (a bread crumb creates a little sizzle), dump a few bread cubes in it, making sure not to crowd the pan. Toss to coat with the oil and spread the cubes out in the pan. The cubes  shouldn’t really touch each other. Sprinkle liberally with salt, pepper, and any other flavorings you would like. My personally favorite is minced garlic. After a few minutes, shake them around and flip them over. You just want them to be golden brown on most sides.

hpim2831

When you’re done, throw some in your soup, or Brent’s favorite way to eat them – a Caesar salad. You can also make them ahead of time and keep them in a sealed container for a few days. I will be eating my croutons this week on top of Creamy Tomato Soup from Veganomicon, which I love. Potatoes give this soup both creaminess and heft, making it more filling that traditional tomato soups. Look how good that looks – Yum!

5 responses »

  1. Nice soup :) Can’t get much better!

    Reply
  2. that looks like the most delicious soup ever — and those croutons seem like the perfect complement :-)

    Reply
  3. OOOOOOHHHHH . . . I love homemade croutons!

    Reply
  4. I just got back from Vegas and just got your package. Thanks so much, I will post it on my blog tomorrow!!

    That soup looks yummy, I have to pull that cookbook off my shelf and give that recipe a try.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

