RSS Feed

CSA: Week 1

Posted on

Brent and I joined a CSA this year, although Brent is pretty hesitant about it. I don’t think he enjoys the mystery of not knowing what we’ll be eating week to week as much as I do. I’m very excited about getting fresh, local, 100% organic produce every week! Our first week’s share:

HPIM3468

  • Lettuce
  • Dill
  • Apple Mint
  • Pea Shoots
  • Cookbook

There’s a ton of dill. I’ve never heard of apple mint before, and I’ve never tried pea shoots. :) What would you make?

6 responses »

  1. Woohoo!! What a great haul! Hmmm I don’t know about the last two but you could always make a dill dip? That’s really good with pretzels!

    Reply
  2. I bet the apple mint would be great minced and tossed with fresh fruit — ooooohhh . . . minty strawberry shortcake! And I’m thinking you could saute the pea shoots and toss them with pasta. Yum. And maybe stirring some dill into yogurt cheese or cream cheese, on bagels or pita?

    Reply
  3. one more — dill is a common ingredient in spanakopita, I think?

    Reply
  4. Ha – this is so fun! I love the little cookbook. I have no idea what I would make with this stuff! Are you disappointed or excited?

    Reply
  5. K – I definitely think some sort of dill dip is in order.

    Catherine – Thanks for the great ideas! I made bagels this past weekend and brent was in love with cream cheese mixed with dill on the sesame seed bagels!

    Heather – I’m excited! I’m glad we got some stuff I’ve never had before! I was hoping the CSA would force me a bit ouside my “usual” comfort zone. :)

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Fresh & Flavorful « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

