RSS Feed

CSA Week 7

Posted on

This week we got such a cute haul from the CSA! I also hit up the farmer’s market and bought some local organic mozzarella and two gorgeous looking tomatoes, but I chopped them up before I took a photo.

HPIM3793Our goods:

  • beets
  • pea shoots
  • basil
  • wax beans
  • baby eggplants
  • jalapeno
  • shallot
  • 3 small green bell peppers
  • lettuce
  • orange mint

I immediately let my friend Tessa know about these adorable eggplants! She loves tiny food, so I wanted to make sure they were featured on the blog. I think they’re adorable, but I’m not sure what to do with them. Brent’s not an eggplant fan, so these babies are all mine. Ideas?

HPIM3795

Tonight’s dinner made me so happy. Like smiling just thinking about it happy. Weird, right? I found this recipe for a zucchini and eggplant casserole and it sounded wonderful. Brent wasn’t super enthused (see the above mentioned eggplant aversion), but I forged ahead. Fresh veggies, bright red, local, organic tomatoes, CSA basil and shallot, and a dash of feta. Obviously it would be delicious.

I’ve realized I really enjoy making dishes that have to be built, like lasagnas and casseroles. Fun to make, fun to eat. :) Here’s a layer shot before baking:

HPIM3798I really enjoyed this. Brent ate it, so I guess it wasn’t too bad. I told him we were eating the leftovers tomorrow and he groaned. Oh well. I thought it was a very pretty dish, as well as tasty.

HPIM3805I’m working early tomorrow, which means I’m off at 11! I think I may spend the afternoon on a baking project, (and some cleaning. :() I have half a bag of cherries ni the fridge that I’d like to incorporate. I was thinking something more desserty than usual, maybe a cake. Let me know if you have any great recipe ideas!

Check out this awesome giveaway Kelly is having at Twirlit!

6 responses »

  1. oh man. those are adorable eggplants. you don’t lie.

    Reply
  2. You have so much creativity with your CSA goods.

    What will you do with the orange mint?

    Reply
  3. Yum! That looks delicious!

    Reply
  4. That casserole is gorgeous!! I love the baby eggplants – too cute :)

    Reply
  5. Oooohh — I have an idea for your baking project — clafoutis? Usually calls for cherries, and the name is such fun to say!

    P.S. Gorgeous-looking casserole! I will absolutely have to make that in a couple of weeks when eggplants start becoming abundant around here.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Eggplant Parmesan Pizza « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

