RSS Feed

Eggplant Meatballs

I’m so happy to be finally posting. Not only am I posting, but I actually have something new and interesting to post about. When I started the blog, I just wanted a way to share all the fun and interesting recipes I tried as I was finally getting comfortable in my kitchen. Life of course as gotten in the way and lately I’ve been making the same old stuff over and over again, just thrilled to make anything at all.

However, I had a chance last Sunday to make something new. In fact, I was determined to make something new. And something with eggplant. My father in law has a huge garden, and every time we see him I end up getting a 5 gallon bucket full of produce. 2 weeks ago it was full of zucchini, butternut squash and eggplant. I think I’ve mentioned before that Brent is not the biggest fan of eggplant, but I wasn’t willing to let it go to waste. I considered some eggplant Parm, but I wanted something new, so I turned to Recipezaar.

After looking at the eggplant recipes, I decided to make Eggplant Meatballs, mostly because they just sounded so… out there, you know? I love weird sounding food. Brent of course, seemed dubious, but I had faith. They were somewhat time consuming to make, and I was a bit wary, but they actually turned out really well!

IMG_0343So maybe they’re not so gorgeous to look at, but they were pretty tasty. Don’t get me wrong — I don’t think anyone would actually think these were made of meat, but they were savory and went really well with marinara sauce. It was nice to bulk up my spaghetti, and best of all, Brent liked them! The man who does not care for eggplant said he would definitely eat it again in this form.

IMG_0347Because of the time involved, I think I would make a double batch next time and try freezing some of these “meatballs” for later use.

I also took some dog photos. Everytime we have a showing on our house, we have to leave with the dogs for like an hour, so I like to take them to this small dog park in our old apartment complex. They seem to enjoy it.

IMG_0321

IMG_0333

IMG_0336

4 responses »

  1. Welcome back, dear Victoria! :)

    Reply
  2. oh man, these look SO good.

    haha love the second picture- the puppy is laughing

    Reply
  3. Those sound unique. I definitely have some eggplant I need to use up myself.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Year End Review « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

