RSS Feed

Braised Short Ribs and Roasted Root Vegetables

Posted on

I get things in my head. Once they’re in there, I can’t get rid of them. And since our return from San Francisco, I’ve had braised short ribs on my mind. Probably because I was obsessed with the braised short rib poutine at Wayfare Tavern. Maybe also because I thought they’d go perfectly with our bottle of Malbec from Wattle Creek.

So when I came across beef short ribs from Sea Breeze Farm at the farmers market yesterday, we decided to grab some. I had some notion that I was going to braise them, but I wasn’t sure what to serve them with. I considered goat cheese polenta, a la The Pioneer Woman, but inspiration came from the root vegetables still filling the market stands. Some fingerling potatoes, adorable baby carrots, and half a bag of braising greens and we were ready to go.

Here are the makings of a great main dish.

I didn’t really know what I was doing, but here’s how it all went down:

  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cracked black pepper
  • 4 beef short ribs
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 8oz boiler onions, peeled
  • 1 cup beef stock
  • 1.5-2 cups red wine
  1. Preheat oven to 300.
  2. Heat oil in dutch oven over medium-high heat.
  3. Mix together flour, salt and pepper and place in plastic bag.
  4. Add ribs to bag and shake to coat.
  5. Cook ribs about 45 seconds on each side, until browned.
  6. Remove ribs and set aside.
  7. Add onions and garlic to the pot and saute until slightly browned and softened, about 5 minutes.
  8. Add beef stock and wine and bring to a boil.
  9. Boil for a few minutes to burn off alcohol and reduce a bit.
  10. Add ribs back into the pot and put a lid on it.
  11. Place covered dutch oven into the oven and cook for 2.5 hours.
  12. When time is up, remove pot and let cool about 15-20 minutes. (I used this time to roasted some veg in the oven)
  13. Taste a bit of the sauce and add salt and pepper in desired.
  14. Skim fat off the top.
  15. Serve warm with whatever you want.

While all that was going on, I washed the potatoes and carrots and tossed them with olive oil, salt and pepper. When the ribs were done, I roasted the veg in the oven at 400 for 30 minutes.

At the last minute Brent also sautéed the greens to complete the meal.

Yeah. Craving fulfilled. Served alongside with the rest of that Malbec, this made a very satisfying dinner. I’m glad we finally indulged my craving, but I don’t think we’ll be making short ribs again any time soon. They were definitely much fattier than my normal fare, which is not really my thing.

I love shopping the farmers market for inspiration. :)

One response »

  1. Wow, this looks SO good. And since malbec is one of my very favorite wines, I’m definitely loving it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

