RSS Feed

Bountiful Harvest

Posted on

I have been patiently trying to grow red bell peppers and cherry tomatoes in my front yard, and I’m finally seeing results. Nothing really edible yet, but things are definitely growing. Here is my pepper plant. It’s so cute!

And here is my cherry tomato plant!

Dinner

For dinner tonight we used our last bagels as buns for grilled veggie burgers, which turned out great. I think the bagel buns were a perfect size and texture for the veggie burgers. We used the “everything” flavor bagels. We had grilled asparagus and sweet potato fries as well.

Friday Cocktail

On Friday nights, we like to make a different cocktail. It’s a fun thing to do, and a good way to end the work week. This week we tried our hand at sangria.

We’re trying to use up things we have in the house, so our mix was:

  • half a bottle Pinot Noir
  • 1 bottle other fruity red wine that we can’t pronounce
  • 1 cup Blue Curacao
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 lb. sliced strawberries
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 sliced lime
  • 1/2 pint blackberries
  • 5 cherries sliced

    That’s pretty much what we had in the house. I think some sliced orange and/or orange juice would have been nice and complimented the orange liqueur, but alas… maybe next time. The sangria tastes great and we’re keeping it in a pitcher in the fridge so it should be good tomorrow too.

    Happy (early) Birthday to Me!

    Brent got me some birthday gifts, and because he knows me very well, he did not bother trying to hide them until my actually birthday. I see more creative cupcakes in my future!! I’m so excited!

    And he was considering getting me another Moosewood Collective cookbook, but he thinks everything we’ve made out of Veganomicon has been really good and so he saw the author’s first book and decided to go with that. I’ve been skimming through it trying to decide what to try first.

    I’m making my first sourdough bread tomorrow. I hope it has been worth the wait!

    2 responses »

    1. Bagel buns for the veggie burgers = great idea!

      Reply
    2. OH! Make the tempeh bacon from Vegan with a Vengeance first. It’s AMAZING! I like making sandwiches with it on toast with vegenaise, tomato, lettuce, and sliced avocado. Heaven!

      Oh, I don’t follow Isa’s directions, though — I just combine everything in the marinade in a shallow skillet, add the tempeh, bring it all to a simmer, cover it partially and let the tempeh slices absorb most of the liquid, flipping once or twice to evenly coat.

      And I don’t have liquid smoke, so I use a couple dashes of cumin and a couple dashes of hot sauce to add a little smokiness. YUUUUUMMMMM!

      Now I want tempeh bacon . . . rats!

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

