RSS Feed

Sourdough Rye, Oh My

Posted on

Lame title I know, but moving on… This bread recipe is “Roberta’s Sourdough Rye” from The Laurel’s Kitchen Bread Book, and the starter is from the same book. Last night in preparation for today’s sourdough festivities I combined 3/4 cup of my starter with 1.5 cups of flour and 3/4 cup water and left it to ferment overnight.

This morning I added the rest of the ingredients: yeast, more flour, more water, salt and caraway seeds. I kneaded the dough for quite a while. It was extremely stiff so I had the Kitchen Aid mixer do a lot of it. After rising and deflating, I began shaping:

I rolled the dough flat to get the gas out of it, then I began rounding it by folding the sides inward:

Then I just flipped it over and made sure all the folds  were tucked underneath for the final rising:

I made one hearth style round and then one loaf for sandwiches. I slashed each before putting into the oven. They baked in the oven with boiling water on the bottom to help steam them and create a good crust:

After the bread came out, I let them cool on a wire rack before trying a slice:

It was chewy but not too dense.

I tried a slice warm with some earth balance and I thought the flavor was great. I think the rye flavor was more apparent than the sourdough, but the sour flavor definitely came through, especially in the aftertaste. The dough didn’t rise as much as I thought it would have, so I think next time I would make this same amount of dough into 1 larger loaf. The flour was a mix of whole grain rye and stone-ground whole wheat. We’re going to be eating this all week long as sandwiches for lunch.

Brent Makes a Sandwich!

Just for fun:

Lightlife Fake Bacon

Bacon gets a friend, Mr. Egg

Flip it, Flip it Good

Completion!

Maybe some cookies tomorrow…

P.S. the lemon cake still tastes great today. I actually think the flavor got better the next day.

4 responses »

  1. That bread looks amazing!!!

    Reply
  2. Your baking skills are uncanny – I’m truly inspired!!

    Reply
  3. Thanks! It’s great to know people are reading!

    Reply
  4. My first blogroll. I guess I am an official blogger now! Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

