RSS Feed

Top O’ The Muffin To You

Posted on

I love strawberries, so I don’t know why it took me so long to bake with them. Well, probably because I just eat them plain. Today I branched out, and in the spirit of using things up, I decided to use leftover strawberries from our sangria, and some soy yogurt in the fridge. The result:

STRAWBERRY-YOGURT MUFFINS

I wanted to make these for a friend recouping from gall-bladder surgery, so I knew I wanted them to be low fat and “healthy-ish,” but I also wanted them to taste delicious. I only used 2 tablespoons of oil in the recipe, and no margarine or butter. The moisture came from the yogurt. They were also made with half whole wheat pastry flour. (Recipe is posted to the right). Here are the strawberries macerating:

After these had gotten good and juicy I folded them into the batter and put them into muffin tins:

They rose beautifully and came out smelling wonderful.

Of course, I had to taste test them before giving any to my friend. I thought they were awesome (so I kept a few for myself too).

I highly recommend them!

Other miscellaneous stuff…

We made this for dinner last night and it was great. I had been wanting to have something pesto-y recently and this hit the spot.

Also, I just think my dogs are cute and I assumed everyone would want to see more photos of them.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 8oz fresh strawberries, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 cup soy yogurt – I used plain but vanilla, or strawberry would be great too.
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon vanilla or almond extract
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1  teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoon sliced almonds (optional)

PREPARATION:

  • Preheat oven to 350.
  • Mix 2 tablespoons sugar with sliced strawberries and set aside 15 minutes – until slightly juicy.
  • In a large bowl, whisk yogurt, oil, sugar and extract together.
  • Sift flours, baking soda and salt into the wet ingredients.
  • Mix together batter just a few stirs.
  • Add in juicy strawberries and fold until batter just holds together.
  • Divide into muffin tin ( I got 10 muffins, but you could probably get 12 if you make them slightly smaller than I did).
  • Sprinkle with almonds if using.
  • Bake for about 18 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
5 responses »

  1. Lucky friend! Well not the surgery part, but you know what I mean. The muffins look great and I love how you can see the fully sliced strawberries, not just strange fruit bits.
    – Heather

    Reply
  2. Hello All! This website looks very professional…I’m very impressed. And being new to the blog and looking over some of the posts, let me just say that Larry does not look like a rat. I am very excited to make some of these recipes. I wish that my wife could cook like this. She has a long commute to NYC so most of the time I have to do the cooking. Since I’m new to this, I’m not sure how this usually goes….but a have a recipe I’d like to share.

    Reply
  3. I have made this recipe twice now and it has been a hit. It is definitely not the most low fat appetizer, but you can vary the recipe to make it more healthy. Victoria (Vicki) you should make this and put pictures up. They are very good…and filling.

    Sesame Chicken Bites (Appetizer)

    Ingredients:
    8 oz cream cheese (can use low fat or sub.)
    3/4 tsp Italian seasoning
    1/2 tsp lemon juice
    1/4 tsp onion salt
    1 cup minced cooked chicken
    1/3 cup minced celery
    1 (2 oz) jar chopped pimiento, drained
    2 (8-count) cans crescent roll dough
    1 large egg, beaten
    1 tablespoon sesame seeds

    Directions:
    1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

    2) Cook minced chicken. (I usually buy cans of chicken…like tuna cans. It’s a lot easier and saves a lot of time)

    3) Combine cream cheese, Italian seasoning, lemon juice and onion salt in a large bowl. Beat with an electric mixer until smooth. Stir in chicken, celery, and pimiento.

    4) Separate dough into 8 rectangles. Press perforations to seal. Spread chicken mixture over dough rectangles, leaving a 1/2-inch border.

    5) Roll each rectangle from one long side to enclose filling. Press edges to seal. Brush rolls with egg. Sprinkle with sesame seeds.

    6) Cut each roll into 5 slices. Arrange on prepared baking sheet. Bake until golden, about 12 minutes.

    Reply
  4. Hey Mike,

    If you make them again and take pictures, I’ll post it on here. Hope your party this weekend went well!

    Reply
  5. PUPPIES!!!

    Those muffins look delish! I never thought of putting strawberries in baked goods cause i kind of just assumed they would dry up. maybe ill have to give it a shot!

    http://www.groundedfitness.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

