RSS Feed

Peanut Butter and Jelly Thumbprint Cookies!

Posted on

I love peanut butter and jelly. A lot. I eat for breakfast, lunch, dinner, a snack, but I decided to make it a cookie tonight. Well, I didn’t decide tonight. I’m been thinking, hoping and dreaming about it lately and tonight was the night. I wanted to originally “hide” the jelly in the cookies, but then I thought maybe that seemed a bit unwieldy. That jelly could come flying out of there at a moment’s notice. So I chose to keep my eye on it and do some thumbprint cookies.

These cookies represent everything that is perfect and wonderful about PB&J. Maybe when I have children, I will make them these cookies and they and their friends will love them and I will be the coolest mom on the block… or maybe my kids will throw a fit and ask why they can’t eat Chips Ahoy and go to McDonald’s like the other kids.

My first batch, seen on the right, I feel I made the thumbprint too deep and wide.

After biting into it, I could tell this cookie was structurally unsound. Notice the droopy middle.

I made adjustments to the next batch.

These were an improvement. Brent’s reaction upon biting into it, “Yep. Peanut butter and jelly.” He’s a man of few words, but I guess that’s the “flavor profile” I was going for so I can’t complain. I may make other modifications to this recipe, maybe sub out yogurt for something else to make the peanut butter part crunchier, but the recipe as I just made it is posted to the right.The peanut butter cookies are “cakey” because of the yogurt.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup soy yogurt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon soy milk
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup preserves, jam or jelly.

PREPARATION:

  • Preheat oven to 375.
  • Cream together peanut butter, yogurt and sugar.
  • Add soy milk and extract
  • Add flour, baking soda, and salt.
  • Scoop out by by the tablespoon on the baking sheet, make into circle and then press a slight indent into the middle.
  • Fill the middles with 1 teaspoon jam, preserves or jelly.
  • Bake for 10 minutes.
  • Cool before eating.

In other news, I bought a new ingredient tonight. Any guesses as to what I’m planning on making? The winner will get a sweet mention on this blog, which is not something to take lightly. I’m pretty sure a few of my friends read it.

And, I got a Basil plant… more pesto!

6 responses »

  1. Your cookies are much more photogenic than mine. Perhaps I should should from a distance like you.

    Structurally unsound!

    I love fresh pesto.

    – Heather

    Reply
  2. Victoria,
    Those recipes look great I def will have to try them out. I laughed when I read your “about” section b/c my boyfriend def thinks I am crazy but loves all the stuff I make as well. I have myown blog so check it out… Also I am wondering how you got the recipes to be seperated, I cant figure out how to have a new page on the blog but seperate the recipes… if that makes sense it is just one big section on my blog.
    Thanks,

    Christie

    Reply
  3. Hangry, I do find that farther away makes mine look better. I don’t think my camera is High res enough to take nice close-ups or something.

    Christie. I’ll definitely check out your blog. To seperate the recipes, I make each recipe on its own page, and when I’m making that page, there is an option near the bottom that will allow you to choose a “parent page” and I put all of my recipe pages under the Recipe Page. Hope that makes sense!

    Reply
  4. ohh thank you so much i will def be making my section like yours… it makes it easy to sort out!

    Reply
  5. I think that ingredient looks like powdered sugar.
    Iknow you must be making a dessert but it could be anything. Maybe mexican cookies.
    Kathy

    Reply
  6. Those cookies look so good. Actually, all the food you make looks good. I need to try out all your recipes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

