RSS Feed

Sweet Home Chicago

Posted on

This past weekend was spent at home visiting my family and friends in Chicago. It was a jam packed weekend. Very fun but very exhausting. We arrived early Friday evening and spent time with our friends Tessa and Greg, who received cupcakes and bagels. We went to Walter Payton’s Roundhouse for dinner and drinks. Tess and I both got the tasting sampler of the different beers. Turns out, I like beer! I thought they were all pretty good, but once I had the Chocolate beer, they all paled in comparison. Way better than other chocolate beers I’ve had. Here is a shot of our ten little beers all lined up. They’re each 2.5 ounces.

There was also definitely cupcake eating. Here is Greg, enjoying the fruits of my labor.

Moving onto Saturday morning, we woke up fairly early (impossible not to do in my parent’s house) and headed to The Chicago Diner for brunch, my favorite. The food was very good. I had the french toast combo which included: 2 french toast wedges, scrambled tofu, potato-tempeh hash, a seitan sausage patty & fruit garnish. I loved the french toast and the seitan sausage patty a ton, but I think my favorite part was the potato-tempeh hash, which was fairly spicy. It’s not so beautiful to look at but it was good.

Brent ordered the Huevos a la Mexicana, which came with: Scrambled tofu with tomatoes, onions, jalapenos, avocado, cilantro & cheese, with tortillas, rice, black beans & salsa. He enjoyed it but thought it was really spicy (which must have been crazy because he cannot taste most spicy things). He actually declared, “I don’t think a normal person could eat this.”

Because it was Brent’s birthday,  he got a free dessert. We picked this Chocolate Coconut Cake, which had some ridiculous name that we couldn’t even pronounce. It was delicious!

After that we saw the Cubbies win! And then went to a family reunion, and then a smaller party with all of my cousins.

The cousins party was a sort of going away party for my brother, who joined the Army and is supposed to leave this week for Basic Training.

It was a couple late nights in a row, but we’re back home now, and my younger sister is visiting for the week to hang out and volunteer at my work as well.  This post is long enough, so I’ll do another one with what we’ve made so far.

3 responses »

  1. I went to the Chicago Diner on Sunday!! Love that place – I always dine there every time I’m in Chicago :0)

    Reply
  2. I cannot believe your brother is so tall! I knew he was getting bigger, but he’s like double himself.

    Reply
  3. Wow, definitely not typical diner food. Looks awesome! Glad you had fun!

    Heather

    Reply

Leave a Reply

