RSS Feed

Birthday!!

Posted on

It’s been a great day. It started off wonderful, because Brent, who is nicer than he lets on, made me blueberry pancakes for breakfast! LOVED them.

Then, unfortunately, Sarah and I made our way to work (the world’s most boring job ever, according to her, who has never had a job). The co-workers were great and we had a mini-office party, and then onto lunch ( I did do things other than eat today, they just aren’t note-worthy).  We went to the mexican restaurant across from our office, where you get free lunch on your birthday! Here is Sarah and I, trying to control our laughter.

Moving on to dinner, which was definitely my favorite part. While I was making the components, Brent opened the wine Tess and Greg gave us, and I sipped on that. I really liked it, though Brent’s response was of course, “tastes like a red.”

THE FONDUE!! I have been looking forward to this ever since I decided to have it as my birthday dinner, which actually hasn’t been that long, only like 2 days, but anyway…  I made home-made french bread to use as a dipper. I love playing with dough. The bread in my fun, new baguette pan thingy from Williams-Sonoma, ready to go into the oven:

And then cooling on the rack.

FRENCH BREAD RECIPE:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3/4 tablespoon active dry yeast
  • 3/4 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 cup warm water (about 110 degrees)
  • 2 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ~4 cups bread flour

PREPARATION:

  • Dissolve yeast and sugar in water until foamy (about 10 minutes).
  • Add salt, oil and 2 cups bread flour and thoroughly mix.
  • Add the rest of flour, the last 1/2 cup as needed.
  • Knead until smooth and elastic, about 10 minutes.
  • Let rise in a greased bowl until doubled, about 1 hour.
  • Deflate and shape into a long baguette (or 2 smaller ones).
  • Slash 4-5 times with a sharp knife and let rise until doubled.
  • Preheat oven to 375.
  • Using a brush, paint bread with water until covered.
  • Place an oven safe pan with hot water onto the bottom of the oven.
  • Bake bread in oven for ~40 minutes (for 1 loaf).

This was really good bread. I cubed it up to use as dippers for the fondue.

We also used roasted red potatoes and steamed broccoli, although really anything covered in a wine and cheese sauce is just fine with me.

Here are some lovely action shots. Brent, completely unimpressed with the idea of fondue:

And Sarah, unable to master the balancing act of skewering her broccoli:

FONDUE RECIPE

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 garlic clove, cut in half
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 1 cup shredded Emmentaler cheese
  • 1 cup shredded Gruyere cheese
  • 1/2 tablespoon cornstarch

PREPARATION:

  • Rub the inside of of the fondue pot, or a smallish saucepan with the cut side of the garlic clove.
  • Heat wine until simmering.
  • Toss cornstarch with the cheeses.
  • Slowly add the cheese, handful by handful, into the simmering wine.
  • Stir constantly until cheese has melted into a creamy sauce. it should only take like 5 minutes.
  • Keep low heat under pot while dipping for best results.
  • Dip away!

That’s all folks. Now I have to wait another year for my birthday to come again. What a shame…

5 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday!

    Your bread looks DELICIOUS!

    – Heather

    Reply
  2. Also, I just Blog Tagged you. Please see my blog for details.

    – Heather

    Reply
  3. Happy Birthday! That’s one delicious-looking loaf of bread . . . and I agree, anything dipped in cheese sauce rocks!

    Reply
  4. Like the new bread pan. The bread looked awesome. Again Happy Birthday

    Reply

Leave a Reply

