RSS Feed

Hibernation

Posted on

It’s been a while since I have posted. I’ve made a few things, but for the most part I’ve been living in Olympics-induced hibernation. A girl’s still got to eat though. Out of necessity, I’ve Tivo-ed some of the Olympics and gone into the kitchen.

I love breakfast food. Well, I love things like french toast and pancakes and waffles. I also love sleep. A lot. These two things are normally mutually exclusive, but one of my favorite things to do on the weekend, (and I know this makes it seem as though my weekends are boring, and I can assure you that they are) is to make big batches of waffles. What is so great about this is that these waffles are way more fabulous after being frozen and then toasted in the morning. It makes them crispier, which I love. My favorite are blueberry whole wheat waffles!

My waffles are sloppy and misshapen. I supposed you could make them neater and put less blueberries in them, but honestly, who cares what they look like when you’re eating waffles? Check out that blueberry goodness.

BLUEBERRY WHOLE WHEAT WAFFLES

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups soymilk
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2.25 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1-1.5 cups frozen blueberries

PREPARATION:

  • Whisk together the soymilk, oil, sugar, and vanilla extract.
  • Mix together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  • Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and gently mix until combined,
  • Fold in blueberries.
  • Pour in 1/4 cups onto waffle maker and cook until desired degree of doneness.
  • I then cool all the waffles and wrap them in individual portions in the freezer and toast as needed.

I definitely recommend making these ahead of time and then taking out of the freezer and toasting. It’s nice to have a home-made breakfast during the week.

I also made some more french bread, but this time it was a half whole wheat loaf to eat with some soup this week. This is the same recipe I have posted but subbing 2 cups of whole wheat bread flour. This is a huge fat loaf, because we’re also going to use it for some sandwiches later this weekend.

This bread made an excellent dipper for simple lentil soup. There is a local restaurant here that makes very delicious lentil soup, but mine never tastes as good. I have no idea what’s in it. Some herbs and some greens I think. So, I’ve been trying different variations of lentil soup to try to reproduce it. This one was very good, though maybe less than photogenic.

This included: brown lentils, vegetable broth, carrots, onion, celery, frozen spinach, oregano, basil, salt, pepper and  a bit of red pepper flakes.

5 responses »

  1. Olympic hibernation – love it. Next time my mom makes lentil soup, I’ll share the recipe because it’s the best I’ve ever had. Yours looks good, though. Did it taste like your favorite?

    I love your waffles. I always want to make them, but I have no waffle iron. If I make them in a pan, does that defeat the purpose?

    Heather

    Reply
  2. Mmm, waffles & lentil soup!!! And wow, that French bread loaf looks PERFECT (no surprise, since you are quite a talented baker).

    Reply
  3. My favorite, favorite, favorite lentil soup recipe is from the Post Punk Kitchen (www.theppk.com — click on “recipes,” then find “French Lentil Soup with Tarragon and Thyme.” The only thing I change is add mushrooms, and cut back on the salt a bit.)

    There is nothing quite like a bowl of lentil soup! So delicious.

    Reply
  4. I was going to say the same thing as VeggieGirl -That loaf looks perfect! Great job!

    I think the lentil soup you made looks very pretty!

    Reply
  5. Now that is some fine looking soup!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

