RSS Feed

Absence makes the heart grow fonder?

Posted on

I apologize for this long overdue post. We had an unfortunate incident that ultimately led to the untimely demise of my beloved iBook. Someone, ahem… Brent, chose to sit in my place on the couch, and completely oblivious to the glass of water I had placed upon the side table, carelessly flung himself onto the couch setting off a dangerous sequence of events. He sat on the cord to my laptop charger, which slid across said side table, tipping over the glass of water, which spilled over onto the couch, and the computer on Brent’s lap. Brent also got slightly wet, which he seemed much more concerned about than I was.

I was not witness to any of this, but heard a very loud scream (of a word not fit for such family friendly blogs as this one), and when I came out, there I saw my husband, dabbing himself with an off-brand, not so absorbant paper towel. I picked up the laptop and a flood of water, comparable to Niagara Falls came rushing out. Devastated, I immediately placed all blame squarely on my spouse’s shoulders, while he did the same.

The final outcome, after an entire day spent trolling the electronic stores was that I would be getting a new laptop, and I wanted it to be an Apple. We have no Apple store anywhere near, so we had to order it online. The bonus was that, as a result of lovely back to school specials and my technical status as a student, we also received a free iPod touch, which seems cute and small but totally useless to me.

So that’s the story. I have still taken some photos and will return to blogging as usual this weekend. I hope to have retained some of my loyal readership in my extended absence. 

4 responses »

  1. Ahh, so sorry about your iBook 😦 But hooray for taking care of all that!! I have a MacBook Air, and love it – can’t go wrong with Apple!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. “Placed upon the side table.” As though she had expertly positioned a single water glass to provide optimal refreshment.

    The reality is that the half-full glass on the side table was one of approximately four drunk and abandoned the previous day. With that many water glasses lying around forgotten, it’s inevitable that one might get spilled.

    Reply
  3. Oh no! I’m still here. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Oh no! That’s what’s always worried me about laptops — I’ve spilled and had to replace my keyboard at least twice in my computer’s long life, but the thought of replacing an entire computer . . . the horror!

    P.S. I heart Macs! Mine has been kicking it for over five years now! Woo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

