RSS Feed

Playing Catch-Up

Posted on

Here is some of what you missed in my absence:

THE VAN BUREN POPCORN FESTIVAL

My husband is from a small town in northeastish Indiana called Van Buren. As of 2006, the town had a population of 887, according to Wikipedia (which I consider the most accurate of all sources). As someone who has been a visitor to the town since then, I can assure you that number has probably only gone down. The town does however have one amazing annual event, that, I’ve been told, often serves as a homecoming of sorts for residents who have since left. That event is The Van Buren Popcorn Festival. Van Buren claims to be “The Popcorn Capital of the World,” so understandably, this festival must be important to them.

I have known my husband for over 4 years now, and been married more than 2, but this year marked my first visit to the Popcorn Festival. And here is where I will drop the suspense. I now share with you my photos of this event:

Here is the “Popcorn Stage.” I’m sure hopeful garage bands throughout Indiana hope to one day play a gig as big as this.

Though you can’t tell from the photo, this is actually a child “tractor pull.”  I don’t actually quite understand the point of a tractor pull, but the man announcing the winners seemed really excited.

Brent and his brother enjoying the many sights, sounds and smells that the festival had to offer. Brent did also get to enjoy an official “Indiana Pork Tenderloin Sandwich.”

Lest you get the impression that I did not have fun, let me settle that right now. I love small town festivals. They’re quaint and charming and I think it’s adorable how everyone seems to know everyone. (Brent managed to have a mini-reunion with his high school senior class president). I can say however, that I feel the Popcorn festival may have declined from its past glory. From what I observed, I think the residents of the town agree with me as well.

2 responses »

  1. What a great town festival!! Sorry that it didn’t seem as enjoyable this year, though.

    Reply
  2. You’re funny! This seems fun to me because I’ve never been anywhere so “small town” as this, but I can see how it could lame. Perhaps you should give the popcorn festival a modern twist!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

