RSS Feed

Dill-icious Potato Leek Soup

It’s fall! Or Autumn if you’re fancy. That means soup, at least to me it does. I could go on for a very long time about how much I love soup, but I won’t. Let’s just say it’s a staple for us. Tonight’s soup was loosely based on other soups I’ve made and eaten, but was in large part dictated by what we had in the house. A big pot of veggies always makes me happy!

Here’s went into this one.

CREAMY DILL POTATO SOUP

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon Earth Balance margarine
  • ~about 20oz Red Skinned Potatoes, cubed
  • 1 leek, white part only, sliced
  • about half an onion, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons fresh Dill
  • dash of dried Marjoram
  • 1 to 1-1/2 teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2-1/2 cups water
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1 cup milk
  • big spoonful goat cheese, about 2 tablespoons
  1. Heat oil and margarine in stockpot over medium heat.
  2. Saute potatoes, leek, and onion for about 5 minutes.
  3. Add dill through wine and bring to a boil.
  4. Lower heat and simmer 15 minutes until potatoes are cooked.
  5. Add milk and goat cheese and puree with an immersion blender (the best soup-making tool ever!
  6. Garnish with fresh dill.

RESULTS!

Poor Brent had to eat a bowl of cereal this morning because he was out of bread, and could not have his usual eggs and toast breakfast. So, I also made some bread. I was going to make my honey whole wheat sourdough, but it ended up with some variations because I seemed to be having a momentary bout of amnesia.

I knew I had enough whole wheat flour but I could not for the life of me find it while making the bread! So I used a combination of bread flour and a bit of whole wheat graham flour that I found. Well anyway, while the bread was baking, I found my whole wheat flour in the fridge, where I had put it last week after reading that whole grain flours go rancid more quickly. Whoops. Bread turned out very tasty regardless.

4 responses »

  1. Comforting soup & bread = classic!

    Reply
  2. I agree that immersion blenders are the best thing that’s ever happened to soup!

    I love soup, too! I even had a “soup month” last October!

    Reply
  3. My “soup month” starts September 1st and ends late August. And your potato dill looks awesome!
    But I am most amazed by your bread! I am going to be going through all your posts and stealing all your ideas and telling my friends I thought of them all myself 😉
    Seriously, though, I have always been jealous of those who bake well. I have cooking down, but bread eludes me.

    Reply
  4. Where’s the couscous at?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

