RSS Feed

Full Disclosure

I’d been trying to figure out a delightfully easy way to say this, but I haven’t come up with one, so I guess I’ll just go ahead and say it. I’m not actually the culinary goddess I’m made myself out to be; not even a little bit. Case in point: last night’s Eggplant Parmesan.

It looks fine. I know it does. How could it not? It’s covered in delicious cheese and baked to an amazing degree of simultaneously gooey and crispy goodness. Underneath all that cheese, however, is a gross, greasy layer of disintegrating eggplant mush.

I am am very Not Good at a few specific things. Chief among them are cooking eggs in any way, shape or form, and frying things. The latter is a recently discovered flaw. I guess the eggplant just soaked up too much oil, or the oil wasn’t hot enough, or I didn’t drain them enough, or one of the other multitude of hiccups that can occur when undertaking such adventures.

For the record, Brent willingly ate the entire thing. His reaction, “It’s fine hon. The eggplant actually disappears in the whole equation.”

All in all, Eggplant Parmesan is on the list of things to try again, albeit with a slightly different preparation method.

5 responses »

  1. Ahh, so sorry that the Eggplant Parmesan dish wasn’t as good as you hoped it would be; but hey, you have had FAR more successes than “messes,” so no worries!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I, too, have had a similar Eggplant Parmesan disaster in my past. I bet your oil wasn’t hot enough — fried foods actually shouldn’t absorb that much oil if the oil is the correct temperature. Also, did you salt your eggplant and let it drain to pull out excess moisture? That might help next time, if you didn’t do it this time.

    Good luck with the retry!

    Reply
  3. Thanks for the advice. I was thinking the oil wasn’t hot enough. I did salt the eggplant and let it drain. I haven’t worked all that much with eggplant or frying things, so I guess a trial run was necessary. We’ll see how it goes next time.

    Reply
  4. Well, that’s ok because you make beautiful bread!

    Reply
  5. haha, sounds like my boyfriend’s kind of dish….the veggies disappear.

    it still looks better than anything i could ever make; especially with eggplant. not so good with eggplant.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

