RSS Feed

Crockpot Success!

We’ve had a crockpot for quite some time now. I bought it about a year ago, because I thought it would be perfect for when I was in school late at night. We would still be able to have a homemade dinner. Well… we used it a few times and it turned everything to mush. About 4 hours on the low setting was enough to cook anything to death. So I haven’t really used it at all in 2008, but with fall and winter coming and making me crave delicious, warm things that will be ready right when I get home from work, I decided to try again.

I made some chili, putting it in when I ran home for lunch, because I figured that would only give it about 4 hours, and hopefully it couldn’t do too much damage to a meal as forgiving as chili.

Success!! Now, I’ll admit I was starving when I got home, so I may be biased, but I thought this turned out delicious! I think it’s a definite make again, and I think the crockpot has saved itself for the time being.

Here’s went into this pot of love:

  • 8 oz seitan, cubed
  • 1 can kidney beans, drained
  • 1 can pinto beans, drained
  • 1 (14oz) can fire-roasted tomatoes
  • half of a big spanish onion, diced
  • almost half of a green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 stalk, celery, diced
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • ~1-1.5 teaspoons salt
  • ~1/2 tablespoon paprika
  • ~1/2 tablespoon cumin
  • ~1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • ~1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • ~1/2 teaspoon coriander
  • ~1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • ~1/2 teaspoon cracked black pepper
  • 1 cup water (I’d use slightly less next time. Brent thought it was too soupy.)

I basically just threw what I had on hand into the pot, and I realized I had no chili powder whatsoever, so I just kind of guessed on all the spices, but it tastes great. I topped my bowl with a small bit of shredded monterey jack cheese.

I thought this would make more servings than it did, but really, I’d say it’s about 4, maybe like 3.5.

2 responses »

  1. Your chili sounds wonderful! I’ve found my crock pot to be hit or miss, too. I used to like it a lot when I ate meat, but veggies just don’t need to cook that long, I guess! I use it a lot for potlucks. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

