RSS Feed

And We’re Back!

Sorry about the long, sad absence. I didn’t mean for it to be like this, but life has a way of slipping away from you once in a while. Here’s some highlights you’ve missed in the past week or so.

First – We made successful Eggplant Parm!

The eggplant was successfully fried, then covered with homemade, previously frozen tomato sauce, perked up with some sauteed cremini mushrooms, and fresh mozzarella and parmesan cheeses, and then baked to gooey perfection. Delicious!

Also, last weekend we headed over to Schmucker’s Amish Market, which is always great because everything is super fresh and cheap. Because a giant bag of apples is only like $3, I purchased said giant bag and then came home to concoct some sort of fall-ish apple treat.

Apple Crostata!

I had thought originally about making apple pie, but I didn’t have a pie plate, or pan, or whatever apparatus is needed to make a pie, so crostata it was. Plus I like the rustic look of it. I used the Barefoot Contessa recipe, but replaced the butter with Earth Balance Buttery Sticks, which worked well for my first time with real pastry/pie dough. Here it is fresh out of the oven!

After Brent and I all too quickly consumed about half of the crostata, I made the executive decision to take the rest to my co-workers. I loved it, and it was so easy to make!

I’m definitely making this again, maybe with pears, which are my favorite fall fruit.

Man cannot survive on crostata alone, so I did also make a batch of Turkish Lentil Soup from the Sundays at Moosewood book. I really like lentil soup, so I’m always a fan of trying new versions of it. I really like the chewy bulgur in this one.

So that was most of my last week. I also went out of town for work, so nothing interesting was created wednesday through saturday, which means you are all caught up!

One response »

  1. Yum, I love eggplant parm.

    You should send your apple creation to Care to Eat (Erin and Andre’s blog) for the Blogger Secret Ingredient contest. Today is the last day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

