RSS Feed

More crockpot success

Posted on

I think I’m slowly learning to trust my crock pot again. It has made itself useful twice this week! The first time, I used it to make a puttanesca sauce to put over some new sprouted whole wheat pasta I found at Trader Joe’s last weekend.

Here’s what was in it:

  • 28oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 14oz can of fire-roasted tomatoes
  • a bunch of chopped kalamata olives, like 15 or 20 maybe
  • 2 tablespoons capers
  • 1/2 cup of diced onions
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 tablespoon anchovy paste
  • 1/2 a green bell pepper
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

I just sauteed the anchovy paste, garlic, onion, and bell pepper in the oil for like 5 minutes before adding everything into the crock pot and putting it on low for 5 hours. Very delicious!

Next up was more chili. This was pretty similar to the one I made a few weeks ago.

These are not very pretty pictures, but alas.

The chili had some seitan, black beans, kidney beans, tomatoes, onion, bell pepper, garlic, and some seasonings. The one I made before was better I think. I have no idea why. This version was perfectly fine, but I’m sure it’ll be better tomorrow. Also, this time I used chicken style seitan, which I suppose may have altered it somewhat.

Tomorrow is Friday, and even more exciting… I have Columbus Day off, making it a three day weekend for me! I’m sure there will be some baking and soup making mixed in with the total vegging out.

3 responses »

  1. Looks mighty pretty to me!! 🙂

    Enjoy your long weekend!!

    Reply
  2. I LOVE puttanesca sauce! (I leave out the anchovies, and it’s still awesome!) Yum, yum, yum.

    Reply
  3. Mmmmmm. The past looks so good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

