RSS Feed

Bake-athon

Posted on

Because I had a three day weekend, I really felt like I could spend one of the days just baking and not worry about cleaning the house and all that other boring stuff. So after breakfast, the gym and the grocery store, I set off to start my bake-athon.

First up was to use the last of the organic pears we had laying in the kitchen, a day away from being rotten. I made Pear-Walnut Quick Bread, based on the lower-fat banana bread recipe from Veganomicon.

Then I got to work on making some sandwich bread for toast for the week. One loaf to eat, one loaf to freeze.

Following the bread was the project I was looking forward to the most. Pumpkin Scones with Cinnamon Glaze. So good. I had a pumpkin scone from Starbucks two weeks ago and ever since I’ve been wanting another one. These were much smaller, and then turned out more cakey than other scones I’ve made, I guess from all the pumpkin. A perfect fall treat.

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 3 tablespoons cream (i used silk creamer)
  • 1 egg

Mix all the flour, baking powder, sugar and spices together in a large bowl. Add in diced butter and mix with a fork until crumbly. Whisk pumpkin, egg and cream together and add to dough. When dough comes together, form into a ball on flat surface and flatten into 1 inch thick rectangle or circle. You can cut the dough into triangles, or use a cutter to make circles. Bake at 425 for ~15 minutes depending on size of scones. (This makes 12 scones, 2.5 inches in diameter).  Whisk together 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 tablespoon milk and drizzle over cooled scones. Enjoy!

The final project for today’s bake-athon was of course Bagels! I made some sun-dried tomato for myself and some everything for Brent.

Here is the world’s ugliest bagel, according to Brent:

Today was great! I’ve been looking forward to baking all week, and now we have treats for all this week, as well as a pretty well stocked freezer.

On a side note, we went to the grocery store and because we’re trying to be mindful of how much we waste and we’re trying to cut down on non-fixed expenses, we planned everything meal out before going, used a few coupons, and managed to spend less than $45 at the store for groceries for the whole week. This was a big accomplishment for me, because I love the grocery store and every time I go I see tons of new things I want to try.

2 responses »

  1. My goodness, you did SOOOOO much baking!!! Fabulous!!! Any leftovers???? Please???? 😉

    I just posted my adapted version of that Veganomicon banana bread recipe 🙂

    Reply
  2. I know just how you feel when you said you were looking forward to having some time to bake AND boy did you bake. I am particularly fond of the pumpking scones. I hope I can try that recipe soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

