RSS Feed

Soup Stuff

Posted on

Whoops! I did it again… an unexpectedly long absence. I made quite a few things last week. First, I tried my hand at making some vegetable broth. I figured with trying to save money on groceries, spending $2 or $3 on broth was insane considering I could make it from leftover scraps. I just threw a bunch of things in a pot with water: squash skins, onion ends, carrot ends, green bean ends, near the end of its life dill, some other herbs, salt. Here are the remnants after straining.

And here is my broth!

Making my own broth is certainly something I’ll do in the future since it was pretty easy, and made me feel less wasteful by using the scraps leftover. I then used this broth to make some Potato and Kale soup from Veganomicon. This is one of Brent’s favorites. I like it because I love potatoes, and probably should eat more dark greens than I do. Look at all the kale!

I also made some tomato soup, although truthfully I can’t remember what is in it besides a head of roasted garlic. I made it last week and then froze it. I’m enjoying it for lunch right now and whatever it contains is good. I may add a bit of sugar next time.

To go with my soup, I’m eating one of the Banana-Peanut Butter Muffins I made monday night. I love these. I was inspired by VeggieGirl’s recent recipe and they came out great.

  • 1 cup milk of your choosing
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup natural peanut butter
  • 3 medium overripe bananas
  • 2.25 cups flour (i used a mix of AP and WW)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1-1.5 teaspoons cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

I whisked the mashed bananas and sugar with the wet ingredients, added the dry ingredients, put into a 12 muffin pan, and baked about 20-23 minutes.

They’re delicious. Thanks for the inspiration VeggieGirl!

4 responses »

  1. Glad you’re back!! And with soup and muffins, no less – glad you liked my recipe!! Love your variation!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Making your own broth is so cool. Did you put the whole scraps in with water, then drain them out? Is that what’s in the top picture?

    Reply
  3. I love making my own stocks and broths. Not only can you save money, but you control the salt and additives, as well as the flavor.

    Reply
  4. Oooh, I want to try making veggie broth! It sounds like fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

