RSS Feed

A Fun Experiment

Posted on

Last night, I finished baking some bread for this week. My personal favorite sandwich bread: Honey Whole Wheat Sourdough. Yum.

I enjoyed a slice toasted this morning with some pink grapefruit marmalade. I’ve noticed over the past few months, toast has quickly climbed up the charts to become one of my favorite comfort foods.

For dinner tonight, I used some leftovers things to create a baked pasta dish. I used half a head of cauliflower that we had sitting in the crisper, half a box of leftover pasta, and some puttanesca sauce I had made a few weeks ago and frozen. After cooking the pasta and cauliflower and heating the sauce, I mixed it all together and topped with a mix of grated parmesan and panko breadcrumbs and baked for ~15 minutes.

It was easy and pretty good. Crunchy topping makes everything taste better.

For a sweet treat, I wanted to make cookies that combined some of my favorites with some leftover items. Oats were on sale this week so I bought some and knowing I had some raisins in the pantry, I planned on making some oatmeal raisin cookies, which are my all-time favorite!

However, I also had some leftover pumpkin puree in the fridge and shredded coconut hiding in the back of the pantry. Mix it all together and the result was Pumpkin Coconut Oatmeal Raisin Cookies. I was feeling lazy and rather than do batches of cookies, I just filled a sheet pan with the batter and made into into cakey/cookie type bars.

Pumpkin Coconut Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ~1/2 cup raisins

Heat oven to 350. Cream together butter and brown sugar. Add pumpkin and eggs and mix until smooth. Add in flour through baking soda and stir until just mixed. Fold in raisins. For cookies, bake for 15 minutes, or create cookie bars and bake for about ~30 minutes. They’re amazing!

One response »

  1. Such a fun experiment, indeed!!! Man oh man, the sourdough loaf and those Pumpkin Coconut Oatmeal Raisin Cookies look divine…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

