RSS Feed

Molasses Seed Bread

My friend made something close to this bread sometime recently. I believe the recipe was from a bread machine handbook or something like that. She gave me the ingredients, told me she loved the bread, and she assumed I would know what to do from there. I did, for the most part. I don’t know anything about bread machines, but this recipe had an egg white in it, and no water. I didn’t know what the egg white was bringing to the party so I ditched it, and used a cup of water. Also, the original ingredients included cumin seeds, which I’m currently not in possession of, so I substituted some caraway seed. Yep, I know, crazy. The result was this very flavorful tasty bread that I am now hoarding and refusing to share with Brent.

hpim1809

MOLASSES SEED BREAD

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1.5 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1.5 tablespoons molasses
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1.5-2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons sunflower seeds
  • 1.5-2 tablespoons sesame seeds
  • 1 tablespoon caraway seed
  1. Dissolve yeast and sugar in warm water. Let sit until frothy ~10 minutes.
  2. Add oil, molasses, and whole wheat flour and mix until full incorporated.
  3. Slowly add all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup at a time, and salt. I used about 1.75 cups of the AP flour.
  4. Add in seeds.
  5. Knead in a mixer ~10 minutes, or longer if you’re kneading by hand.
  6. Place into a greased bowl and let rise until double ~1.5 hours.
  7. Deflate the dough and let rise again until double ~50 minutes.
  8. Deflate dough and flatten with a rolling pin into a long rectangle ~8 inches wide. Slowly roll the dough into an 8″ wide log, squeezing out all the excess air as you go.
  9. Pinch seams together and place seam side down into a loaf pan.
  10. Let rise ~30 minutes in loaf pan and preheat oven to 350.
  11. Bake ~35-40 minutes in the oven.
  12. Enjoy!

I love this bread. It’s nutty, but faintly sweet and tastes so great warm out of the oven. Makes good toast too! So I greatly thank Tessa for the recommendation. HOWEVER, I could not find shelled sunflower seeds anywhere at the grocery store, and I was informed that even if I could have, they are apparently sold in a big bag that is very expensive. So I bough a bag in the check out lane that cost 99 cents, and forced my husband to join me in a “fun” shelling session. This is no one’s idea of a good time. I can promise that if you are able to procure shelled seeds or find a person who will not hate you for making them help shell them, this bread is totally worth it.

5 responses »

  1. Sound delicious!

    I don’t have trouble finding shelled sunflower seeds — my co-op has them in the bulk bins. Do you have a co-op or natural foods store in your area? They might have something for you??

    Reply
  2. Very nice load of bread!

    Reply
  3. There is nothing better than fresh baked bread.

    Seriously.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Light Rye Bread « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

