RSS Feed

More comfort food

Still not feeling the greatest, yesterday at lunch I threw a bunch of stuff into the crock pot to make pasta sauce, so when I got home from work all I had to do was boil water. Lovely. Even I can handle that. Pasta sauce is one of those things that I think personally tastes nearly as good pre-made, so there’s no real reason to make your own, other than the fact that once I realized how easy it was to make a huge batch of it, I could no longer justify paying nearly $5 for 28oz of sauce. The crock-pot has made this whole sauce making deal even easier.

You may notice that there appear to be multiple pasta shapes in the photo below. That is not your mind playing tricks on you. It is due to the fact I had a few bags with like 2 ounces of pasta left in them, so I just used all the ends. Also, in the interest of full disclosure, I will let you know that I am not normally the type of person who would sprinkle a garnish of chopped parsley on a meal to be eaten on the couch. I mean really, I don’t even think I know what parsley tastes like, but it makes the photos look so much prettier.

hpim1822

CROCK POT MARINARA SAUCE

  • 28oz can Crushed Tomatoes with Basil
  • 28oz can Diced Tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • Half an onion, diced
  • ~4oz cremini mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon basil
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  1. Heat oil in a pan over medium heat.
  2. Add onions, garlic and mushrooms. Saute until softened.
  3. Place tomatoes, mushroom mixture and remaining ingredients into a crock-pot and thoroughly mix.
  4. Cook on low for ~4 hours, or longer.

I really liked this sauce. It will be making an appearance later in the week, and I have a few portions frozen for future use as well. I find that sort of thing really comes in handy and keeps us from going out to dinner.

Now on to tonight’s dinner so that I will be caught up on the blog. I had a long day of working out of town, so Brent made dinner, which was ready within 15 minutes of my arrival. (I’m always starving when I get home). We had tuna melts on home-made bread. It was slightly odd at first because I don’t think I’ve ever had a tuna melt and the idea of warm tuna salad was a little bizarre to me. I did however inhale the sandwich within a matter of seconds so I guess it was good. The photo is, to say the least, unappealing, because I was way more interested in getting the sandwich into my stomach as soon as possible.

hpim1831

2 responses »

  1. Hooray for comfort food!! Hope it makes you feel MUCH better!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Pizza, Pizza!! « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

