RSS Feed

Pizza, Pizza!!

Yes, that was a Little Caesar’s reference for those of you who got it. So for Friday night dinner this week, I made pizza. I have to say, Friday night is my number one “want to go out to dinner” time of the week. I’m just so glad the work week is over, a fact that for me, is always worth celebrating, so I always try to make either a fancy type meal, or a junk food type meal. That makes it feel more celebratory and different form our normal dinners, and it’s a lot cheaper as well. Junk food won out this week!

hpim1834

I feel like I may be picky about my pizza. We haven’t found any pizza we love in the Fort. We have been told numerous times that Pizza Hut has the best pizza in town. Now don’t get me wrong, Pizza Hut is fine and I’ve certainly more than my fair share of it, but saying that is the best pizza in town makes me a little sad.

The structure of the crust is the most important part to me. I either like it really thin and crispy, OR I like it to be pizza you eat with a fork: Chicago deep dish! It should be noted that Brent hates the deep dish pizza, but I still get it nearly every time I go home to visit my parents. Tonight I made a thin crust cheese pizza. Pretty basic, but delicious. The sauce was leftover from earlier in the week.

THIN CRUST PIZZA DOUGH

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 teaspoons dry active yeast
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • ~3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  1. Dissolve yeast and sugar in water. Wait about 10 minutes for yeast to get foamy.
  2. Add oil, flour, salt and oregano. You may need to add more or less flour. Add the last cup about 1/4 cup at a time.
  3. Place into a greased bowl and let double ~30 minutes.
  4. Divide dough in half and roll out each portion into an approximate 12″ circle. I freeze the other portion for later use.
  5. I pre-bake the crust on a pizza sheet at 425 for about 8-10 minutes before topping and baking another 15 minutes.
  6. Enjoy!

I love pizza. This was really good because the sauce had some veggie chunks in it, creating some built in toppings. I personally think the pre-baking is vital because it makes the crust crispier and more structurally sound. I hate a limp crust. Enjoy your friday night and weekend!!

2 responses »

  1. Yep, I got the Little Caesar’s reference right away!! 😀

    Fabulous pizza!! Thin crust = the best.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Friday Night Pizza « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

