RSS Feed

Christmas Breakfast

Not to worry. I haven’t lost track of time. I know it’s not Christmas yet. I’ve just stumbled upon a recipe that will definitely be on our holiday table though! Every Christmas my husband’s family eats biscuits & gravy for breakfast. I’ve tried to continue the tradition in our house for his sake, even though “biscuits & gravy” kind of grosses me out. I guess it must be a regional thing. I’ve just never been a big fan. It’s not the biscuit part that creates the problem; it’s much more an issue with gravy. As I may have stated before, I’m just incredibly picky about sauces, condiments, dressing, anything like that. Biscuits are delicious though. So this morning, I made a batch of Flaky Buttermilk Biscuits. So, so good! Flakiness is my number one biscuit requirement.

hpim1839

These definitely fit the bill. I did not actually have buttermilk, so I used just about 3/4 cup of skim milk and a teaspoon of apple cider vinegar. Also, I’m not in possession of any biscuit cutters, because I always just use a drinking glass. As a result, I did not make 1-3/4 inch biscuits. I think mine were more like 2-1/2″, so I only got 9 biscuits, which is really a shame because they’re so yummy and versatile. I had one for breakfast with strawberry preserves, which is my preferred way to eat biscuits.

hpim1843

Last year when we hosted Thanksgiving, I made biscuits to go with dinner. I believe they were Chive Biscuits by the Barefoot Contessa. This Cooking Light recipe contains less butter, and no cream or half and half, but I think tastes way better, and the folding method with the dough must be what creates such awesome flaky layers. I highly recommend trying this recipe. I think next time I may try one or more of the variations.

Brent is still sleeping, so he has not tried them yet, but I’m sure he will love them. I’ll have to freeze half of them or something so I can make them last.

4 responses »

  1. Mmm, mmm, mmm!!! Perfect holiday (or anytime) treat 🙂

    Brent better wake up soon, before all the biscuits are gone 😉

    Reply
  2. ugh, i could live on biscuits. seriously. these look so good!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

    Reply
  3. I made those exact biscuits a couple of weeks ago — they were SOOOOOOOO amazingly delicious!!!!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Christmas Breakfast Biscuits « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

