RSS Feed

Good, if you like Chocolate Chip

Chocolate chip cookies. They’re as American as apple pie or baseball. Everyone loves them, and since I love cookies, I assume I love them too. I’ve always thought of chocolate chip cookies as just OK; they’re fine and obviously I wouldn’t turn them down if offered. I’ve never been “Wowed!” by a chocolate cookie, but I thought I hadn’t found the right recipe. I made a new recipe last night, and they’re as good or better than any I’ve ever tasted, but I’m just beginning to think that I’m just not destined to fall in love with a chocolate chip cookie.

hpim1891

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1.5 teaspoons almond extract
  • 1.5 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1.5-2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 325.
  2. Cream together butter and both sugars.
  3. Add in egg, egg yolk, and extracts.
  4. Add in sifted flour, salt and baking soda and mix until just combined.
  5. Fold in chocolate chips.
  6. Roll in large rounded tablespoon size balls and bake about 20 minutes.
  7. Cool on pan for about 5-10 minutes and then cool completely on wire rack.
  8. This made 2 dozen big cookies ~3 inches in diameter.

I like my cookies to be chewy and not gooey, so if you would like them softer, bake for less time. These came out chewy, sweet, and slightly nutty from the almond extract. I like them and they’re good with cookies, but they’ll never replace my one true love cookie: Oatmeal Raisin. I love them; always have, always will. I’m looking forward to our family’s annual cookie baking day where I will be producing (and then eating) massive quantities of my favorite cookies!

4 responses »

  1. Personally, I prefer carob 😉

    Reply
  2. I always reduce the amount of chocolate chips in a recipe and I really prefer it that way myself!

    Reply
  3. I’ve noticed that “wow” chocolate chip cookies, for me, have always contained extreme amounts of fair-trade, organic dark chocolate chips . . . and a healthy dose of pecans, too. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Mmmmmmmm… cookies! Looks like a good one! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

