RSS Feed

Chili/Soup

I feel like I have a bunch of things on my do to list tonight. I want to pack, make my appetizer for Thanksgiving, get a work out in, and I usually like to watch the biggest loser. So to try to make things easier, I came home at lunch (the benefit of working like 2 miles from home), and threw together a soup in the crockpot. This is actually a lie. I used multiple pots and pans, and made a huge mess in the kitchen, so I didn’t really just throw it all in the crock pot. Brent thinks I make such messes on purpose, but truthfully I really don’t notice it while its happening.

Anyway, tonight’s dinner was black bean soup, which Brent thought tasted much more like chili. This soup really cleared our sinuses out. I appear to have gone waaaaayyyy overboard on the cayenne pepper. The additions of some sour cream and a bit of cheese helped quite a bit, but I’m still sniffling. I was trying to get as many veggies into this soup as possible because I wanted to use them to blunt all the sugary treats I’ve been having recently and because we’re leaving at like 3pm tomorrow and I wanted our crisper drawer clean with no waste. So I threw in half a red onion, half a yellow onion, a green bell pepper, 3 stalks of celery, and 2 big carrots.

hpim1895

I pureed almost half the soup to thicken it up a bit, and because I just like to do that to bean based soups. The soup, albeit very spicy, was still delicious, easy and healthy, and I made a big batch of it so I could freeze it in individual portions for lunches for the week after Thanksgiving.

hpim1897

BLACK BEAN SOUP

  • 1lb. dried black beans, soaked and cooked
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 large onion, diced (I used half of each color because that’s what I had)
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cup carrots, diced
  • 1/2 cup celery, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 14oz can Mexican blend diced tomatoes
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (Watch Out!)
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  1. Heat oil in large saute pan over medium heat.
  2. Add onion, celery, carrot, bell pepper and garlic and saute for 5-10 minutes until softened.
  3. Add salt and other spices to vegetables and saute 1 more minute.
  4. Put vegetable mix and all other ingredients into a crockpot (or big soup pot on the stove), and cook on low for 4 hours (or simmer on low for 1-2 hours).
  5. Place half of soup into a blender and puree. Return to soup and thoroughly mix. (You can just use an immersion blender for this because you really ought to have one. Best $20 I ever spent.)
  6. Garnish with sliced green onion, sour cream and/or shredded cheddar.

2 responses »

  1. Mmm, lovin’ all the vegetables!!

    Reply
  2. This looks really delicious. I’m always looking for new soup recipes and I can’t wait to try this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

