RSS Feed

Beginning to feel a lot like Christmas

I woke up to my husband saying “Hey it’s snowing!” I remember mumbling something about whether it was sticking. The answer was “Yes it is, and we’re supposed to get more.” We spent most of the day inside, with me setting up the Christmas tree and our stockings. We don’t have very many decorations, and those we do have are pretty “apartment sized.” I remember when we first moved into this house and we had our first Christmas here last year, I was so excited to have a mantle to hang our stockings on. It just seemed so perfect!

hpim1913

I love our tree, even if it is kind of smallish and very scraggly. I only like those fat old fashioned Christmas lights, not the skinny newer ones. We don’t have many ornaments because I refuse to have any that aren’t unique, so each one is the only one of its kind on our tree. Truthfully Brent has very little opinion about the tree, or anything else “Christmasy” for that matter. He’s not really a holiday cheer kind of guy. I guess it would ruin his reputation as Master of all Things Sarcastic and Cynical. Alas.

Below the tree we have a lovely tree skirt, sewn by my grandmother. Every one of her children has one for their home, and when we got married and bought the house, I became the first grandchild to have one. It’s a tradition I couldn’t ignore. Plus, even though I’m the only one of my family living outside the Chicago-land area, it helps me feel more connected to them.

hpim1914

I believe she purchased this pattern from Joann Fabrics and then hand sews all the parts together. She does the same thing for all of our stockings.

hpim19181hpim1917

I have tried for the past two years to get her to make stockings for Larry and Lucy as well, but that request has always been met with a very crotchety “I’m not making any stockings for dogs!” So, they’ve had to settle for plain stockings with their names on them in glitter glue. Ha.

When I was much younger, she would also makes sequined ornaments out of Styrofoam shapes, sequins, and these decorative push pin type things. I was always very impressed with her craftiness and I would occasionally make some ornaments of my own; a very sad looking bunch those were.

Up next for Christmas traditions: Cookie-Baking Day. It is a day where every female member of my mom’s side of the family gathers at my aunt’s house and tries to make an obscene amount of cookies in one day. Actually, as the family has grown, so has Cookie-Baking Day. It used to be one day, but now it starts Friday night and goes all day Saturday. The variety of cookies is quite large: oatmeal raisin, chocolate chip, shortbread crescents, peanut butter, peanut butter blossoms, and a family favorite – fatimins. That last one seems to be one that most people aren’t familiar with, and truthfully, its possible my family made up the name. The first syllable rhymes with cot, not cat. They’re basically  flattened dough pieces, fried and then coated in powdered sugar. I’ve realized they’re a love ’em or hate ’em kind of thing. Brent doesn’t care for them, but my siblings and I used to fight over them. This year’s date is December 20th. Can’t wait!

2 responses »

  1. HOORAY FOR LOVELY CHRISTMAS DECORATIONS!!!!

    Cookie-Baking Day?? Sign ME up!! 😀

    Reply
  2. I’ve heard of that cookie before — I’ve seen it spelled “fattigman.” We have a special roller-style cutter for it at the kitchenwares store I work at.

    Happy holidays! Isn’t it nice to get the tree up early so you can enjoy it for a long time?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

