RSS Feed

More pasta

Posted on

Hmm. Looking at my cloud tag I’ve realized it looks like I only eat soup and pasta. Oh well, they’re both delicious and cheap! For dinner tonight, I was planning on shrimp and broccoli but I didn’t know in what form. I pondered some stir-fry but I actually don’t really enjoy stir-fry that much. When Brent and I first moved in together he did ALL the cooking, which I’m very grateful for, but we ate a lot of stir-fry. He still makes most Asian dishes in our house. That’s his role: Asian food and eggs. Anyway, back to the shrimp and broccoli. I had some milk leftover from the corn chowder, and a little bit of Parmesan cheese, so I thought a pasta alfredo dish might be good. So that’s what we had. It was delicious, and it made a huge mess in the kitchen so I’m sure I’ll be getting dirty looks about it all night.

hpim1928

I was off on my timing, and while I was waiting and waiting on the pasta water to boil, the sauce thickened up quite a bit more than I would like, but it was still good. I used to order fettuccine Alfredo at restaurants all the time. Of course, once I started cooking and realized what a rip off most pasta dishes are, I refuse to order them knowing I can make them at home for 10% of the cost.

PASTA ALFREDO WITH SHRIMP AND BROCCOLI

  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon all purpose flour
  • 1-1.5 cups milk
  • ~1/3 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 6 oz whole wheat spaghetti
  • 2 cups chopped broccoli florets
  • 1/2 lb. peeled and deveined shrimp
  1. Boil water for pasta.
  2. Steam broccoli until tender.
  3. Melt butter in small saucepan.
  4. Add garlic to butter and saute ~2 minutes.
  5. Add flour to butter and garlic and mix until flour is dissolved.
  6. Add milk to roux and bring to a boil.
  7. Add cheese, salt and pepper to milk mixture and stir until melted.
  8. Lower heat and let simmer about 5 minutes.
  9. When pasta water boils, add pasta.
  10. After 6-8 minutes, add shrimp to boiling water and cook additional 1-2 minutes.
  11. Drain shrimp and pasta.
  12. Toss pasta, shrimp, broccoli, and sauce all together and enjoy!
3 responses »

  1. Can’t go wrong with soup OR pasta!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. i havent had alfredo in FOREVER. I need to put an end to that immediately. this looks delicious!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

    Reply
  3. Just wanted to let you know I made your sauce last night and it was great… now the broccoli and chicken I paired with it not so much.. but the sauce was a hit 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

