RSS Feed

Flaxy

Posted on

For our weekly bread, I made a variation on my Whole Wheat Flax-seed Bread. Basically the only modification I made was to use 1/2 cup vital wheat gluten in place of whole wheat flour because I thought the bread could benefit from it.

hpim1927

The recipe made two 9×5″ loaves, which is usually what I try to do so that we have one loaf to eat and one to freeze. I was really happy with how it turned out. I love the nutty flavor of this bread, and the roughly ground seeds provide a nice texture. It came out a lot softer this time from the gluten, and made excellent toast and a delicious peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

hpim1931

It’s Thursday night, which means I’m going to download Top Chef off iTunes, and watch The Office, my favorites. I hope you all have something fun to look forward to this weekend!

3 responses »

  1. Looks PERFECT for a PBJ!!

    Top Chef + The Office = amazing shows.

    Reply
  2. oooo homemade bread. i havent been that daring yet, but its on my list. this looks delicious- and so professional!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

    Reply
  3. I made this bread last night as my first ever home made bread attempt an LOVED it! I’m eating a warm slice with fresh butter as I type. I did make a couple of slight revisions to the recipe – I used brown sugar and olive oil in lieu of sugar and veg oil and instead of letting the bread raise for 1.5 hours I made the dough last night and put it in the fridge for the first rise (about 8 hours) so I was able to have fresh bread this morning! Lovely đŸ™‚ thanks so much – I am inspired and expect this to be the first of many loaves to come!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

