RSS Feed

Recession Food

Posted on

hpim1935

This is what the weather in the fort looks like. I think it’s pretty as long as I don’t have to drive anywhere in it. Lucy, being born and bred in El Monte, California hates the snow and always steps off the patio with great trepidation while giving me pity-inducing looks through the back window. Larry really loves the snow and tries his best to attack it.

Here’s a very cute photo of Lucy looking thrilled to be warm and inside. By the way, Brent gave me a weird look when I said look how cute this photo of Lucy is. His response: “That’s what she always looks like.” Those feet in the background would be Brent playing with the Wii Fit. In the interest of fairness, I did try several times to get a photo of Larry as well, but he is well into his terrible twos and refuses to sit still at all, so all I got was a series of black blurs.

hpim1937

Anyway, onto the food. Last night at Brent’s work party, I half-jokingly referred to this particular meal as recession food, because it packs quite a bit of nutrition into really cheap grocery items. Brent really likes this soup though. I guess the idea originally came form Veganomicon’s Baked Potato and Greens soup, but I vary it quite a bit, largely because I’ve never been patient enough to bake a potato, and I much prefer Yukon Golds anyway.

hpim1945

As previously mentioned, the soup’s main distinguishing qualities are it’s ease, nutrition, and inexpensiveness, all of which make it a regular around here. Here’s how I make my version.

POTATO-KALE SOUP

  • 2 tablespoons oil (usually canola or olive)
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed fennel seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed dried thyme
  • 4-6 cups vegetable broth (depending how thick you want it)
  • ~1.5lbs. peeled and diced Yukon Gold potatoes
  • 1 bunch stemmed and chopped kale
  1. Heat oil in soup pot over medium heat.
  2. Add onion and saute about 7-8 minutes.
  3. Add garlic and saute 2-3 minutes.
  4. Add seasoning and saute 1 minute more.
  5. Add broth and potatoes and bring to a boil.
  6. Lower heat, add kale, and simmer about 15 minutes until potatoes are tender.
  7. Taste test and adjust any seasonings necessary and enjoy!

We went grocery shopping, and I’m excited because I’m trying out quite a few new recipes this week, so hopefully they’ll turn out well. I would classify this week’s menu as “comfort-foodish.” Hopefully tomorrow, I’ll get around to a baking project. These next two weeks or so I’m doing some test runs of some holiday gifts I’m baking. Hope everyone is enjoying their weekend!

2 responses »

  1. Saaaame weather here.

    Aww, Lucy šŸ™‚

    Great soup!!

    Can’t wait to see your baking projects!!

    Reply
  2. Snow! Im so jealous! and that soup looks perfect for the weather. while cuddling up with the pooch right?

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

