RSS Feed

Quick & Easy

Posted on

Tonight’s dinner is probably going to become a regular. It was quick, easy, tasty, and very versatile. I made Wasabi Salmon Cakes. I made a few modifications based on what I had on hand. I used Nasoya Sandwich Spread instead of mayonnaise, and no red bell pepper in the cakes because I put some in my side salad instead. The recipe didn’t mention what size can of salmon to use. Mine was 14.5oz and I ended up using probably closer to half a cup of panko breadcrumbs. After forming the patties, I let them chill i the fridge for about an hour to firm up and let the flavors meld. I also pan-fried them in a little canola oil. I loved the crunchy crust.

hpim1965

This made 6 pretty large cakes for us. We each had 2 and I froze two of them uncooked to use at a later time. Brent said he really liked the wasabi in them, but I guess I must be getting a cold because I could not really taste the wasabi. We (Brent) made a quick dipping sauce out of hoisin sauce, rice vinegar, soy sauce and chili paste. These patties could be made to suite any meal because you can just switch up the add-ins to change the flavor.

DOGS ARE SMART

I just think my dogs are hilarious. We feed them when we get home from work everyday, which usually ends up because 5:15 or so. Because Larry eats so much quicker than Lucy, we need to seperate them while they eat so that Larry doesn’t start eating Lucy’s food. What works best is to feed Lucy outside on the patio, and Larry eats inside. Now obviously dogs cannot tell time, but I swear these dogs know when it is 5pm. Today I was milling around the kitchen around 5, when Lucy started freaking out and jumping at the patio door. Assuming she had to go outside, I opened the door, at which point she sat down promtly right outside the door next to her food bowl. Larry then ran next to his food bowl and sat there wagging his tail. Maybe its because I was bored, but I found this really funny.

3 responses »

  1. Your dogs ARE quite funny 😀

    Reply
  2. aw puppies- always good for a laugh!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Almost Friday « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

