RSS Feed

My new favorite thing

Posted on

Last week I bought an abundance of apples that were just OK. Nothing spectacular. As a result, we still had quite a few of them left over this week. Not wanting to sit at home all day with a pie or something equally dangerous, I was trying to come up with a non-pastry way to use the leftovers. After some browsing, I found a lot of recipes for apple butter, which I’ve never had. I’ve never had any sort of fruit butter, so I was slightly apprehensive, but after assurances from my best friend who claims to have loved every fruit butter she’s ever come across, including blueberry, I confidently strode into the kitchen preparing to make the best apple butter ever.

After peeling, coring and chopping all the apples (possibly the most tedious task ever, but in a repetitive calming sort of way), I loaded up the crock-pot, which I thought would be the easiest method. In went apples, sugar, and spices.

hpim1969

I started this project at about 11pm last night, so I let it go on low all night long. I was expecting my house to smell of apple pie. It did not. Kind of a bummer. When I woke up this morning, the butter had started to take shape. All the apples had broken down and begun melding together.

hpim1972

I decided to help the process along by using my immersion blender, producing a thickened, dark, shiny sauce, which kind of reminds me of barbecue sauce in the looks department.

hpim1973

After letting it cool in the fridge to further thicken up to an appropriate spreading consistency, I slathered some on a piece of toast and finally enjoy the fruits of my labor. Pun intended. I love this stuff. A spread for toast, spicing up some oatmeal, pouring a little on top of ice cream. The possibilities are endless.

hpim19761

CROCK-POT SPICED APPLE BUTTER

  • 1.5 lbs. peeled and chopped apples (this is the weight after peeling and coring)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  1. In a bowl, mix together all ingredients and put into crock-pot.
  2. Cook on high 1 hour, and then switch to low for about 12 hours.
  3. Blend with an immersion blender, or use a whisk if you want it slightly more textured.
  4. Take the lid off and cook on low for another 1-2 hours to thicken up.
  5. Cool and keep in refrigerator up to 2 weeks, or put in the freezer for up to 2 months.
  6. Makes about 2.5 cups. Enjoy!

I’m a fruit butter convert. I want to turn everything into a butter. Love it. I’m positive my husband will think I’m nuts. Speaking of which, last night we ran to the store to pick up ice cream that I wanted: Ben & Jerry’s Pumpkin Cheesecake, which came highly recommended. My friend called me so I walked near the exit of the store to talk while Brent went through the checkout. While bagging our items: The cashier said “Huh. Pumpkin and Cheesecake. That’s a weird combination.” Brent’s reply, “It’s for my wife.” The cashier joked. “Oh. Well at least it doesn’t have pickles in it. Your wife must be pregnant.” After telling me this story Brent thought it was a very strange sequence of events and said to me, “So apparently you have the tastes of a deranged pregnant woman.” I find that kind of ridiculous. Pumpkin and cheesecake are a natural combination. The ice cream is amazing. I can’t recommend it enough. The cashier was obviously clueless. Alas.

6 responses »

  1. Fantastic!!! A great way to use up those overripe apples too. I am going to have to try this. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. HOOOOOOLY YUM!! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  3. This looks awesome! And, I must be pregnant then, too, because I also love pumpkin and cheesecake together! Crazy cashier!

    Reply
  4. What a cool way to make apple butter! I love that stuff!

    Reply
  5. Thanks for the recipe- Im definately going to try this! I didnt realize there actually wasn’t any butter in it at all.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

    Reply
  6. Pingback: “Christmas” Dinner 2008, Part 2: Dinner, Dessert and Games « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

