RSS Feed

Like Nachos… sort of

Last night’s dinner was a Mexican lasagna of sorts. It was based on this recipe for Black Bean and Tortilla Bake. I made a few modifications, as usual, out of convenience. I used 8 corn tortillas, not 12, and mine was spread out in two layers, not 3, in a larger pan. I added a red bell pepper, and did not use any green onion or cilantro because I didn’t have any, but it would have punched up the meal I’m sure.

hpim1979

The dish immediately reminded me of nachos. Just look at it. While we were eating dinner, I told Brent I thought it was just like eating nachos, except without the crunchy shell. Brent’s response: “Yeah, sort of. Like healthy nachos without any of the beef and cheese sauce.” So I guess we have different ideas of what constitutes a nacho. Good thing that’s not in the top five reasons for divorce. Our difference in music however, is another story. Anyway, here is what it looks like cut up. Not super attractive. I think a green garnish would have gone a long way with this one.

hpim1983

Overall this was a decent recipe. I tried to kick it up a notch by adding some red pepper flakes to the tomato mixture, but the effect was negligible. I think it would benefit from some heat.  It made about 6 servings, so we have leftovers for lunch which is always nice. Be back later with some breakfast and tonight’s dinner.

2 responses »

  1. Mmmm, that looks so delicious!

    Reply
  2. YUUUUUM! I love recipes like this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

