RSS Feed

Breakfast for Brent

This morning, I was up and out of bed earlier than normal, getting ready for a job interview, and I actually decided to be a very nice and make breakfast for Brent, who was busy over-sleeping. Because he eats 2 eggs and 2 slices of toast every morning for breakfast, I didn’t want to startle him by doing anything too different. So using the same ingredients as his “usual,” I made some Eggs in a Basket. A HUGE accomplishment for me considering my lack of egg cooking ability.

hpim1987

I only made this for Brent, and I had some toast with apple butter. I have a very deep-rooted fear of runny yolks so this was obviously not my kind of meal. Brent asked me if I had posted breakfast yet, and I said no. His response was “You can tell them it was really good.” However, he did modify that with “Well, as good as it could be on whole wheat bread.” Apparently he would prefer this made with sourdough, which I’m sure would be delicious.

I just used a drinking class to cut out 2 rounds out of the whole wheat flax-seed bread and then buttered the slices. In a non-stick skillet I started cooking the bread and then cracked an egg into each hole. While the eggs cook they attach to the bread. After 2 minutes, I flip and cook another 1-2 minutes. I also toasted the little rounds too because I didn’t want them to go to waste. The eggs look cute, even if I would never eat them.

For tonight’s dinner, we had a repeat of Linguine with White Clam Sauce. It made for a delicious, if slightly blog-boring, meal. This recipe is so easy, and I think it will definitely be our stand by, considering it is a completely pantry made meal.

hpim1998

One response »

Leave a Reply

