RSS Feed

A New Classic?

I have said on here many times that my all-time favorite cookie has and always will be: Oatmeal Raisin. I love it. But there may be a new contender in town. Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you: The Cranberry-Orange Oatmeal Cookie!

hpim2024

We had some dried cranberries in the house from the biscotti I made the other day, and we all saw the large quantities of navel oranges I bought. Cranberry and orange as a combination is hardly earth-shattering. They just go together. However, I’ve never had them in a cookie, so I decided to put a new spin on my beloved favorite.

hpim2022

CRANBERRY-ORANGE OATMEAL COOKIES

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) softened butter
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract (we knew it was coming)
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2.5 cups quick oats
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries
  • ~1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1 tablespoon orange zest
  1. In a small sauce pan, bring the orange juice to a slight boil.
  2. Add cranberries and lower heat. Simmer 10 minutes.
  3. Let cool completely.
  4. Cream together butter, sugars, egg and extract.
  5. Combine flour through salt and whisk.
  6. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet ingredients until full incorporated.
  7. Add cranberry and orange juice mixture, along with zest.
  8. Fold in oats.
  9. Preheat oven to 350.
  10. Place tablespoon size drops on baking sheets and bake approximately 12 minutes. Makes approximately 30 cookies.
  11. Let cool completely.

Amazingly, even after all that grocery shopping for baking supplies, I realized that I had no brown sugar. Devastating, I know. So for the first time ever, today I made my own brown sugar. I made just enough for this recipe, which ended up being 1/2 cup white sugar whisked together with 1 tablespoon molasses until fully combined. Worked out perfectly. 🙂

I love them. Brent’s reaction, “Yeah, I would eat another one of these,” which is Brent speak for “This is an amazingly delicious cookie.” I should probably get them out of the house before I consume all of them. So I have a kitchen full of cookies now, but no dinner. Brent’s been sick all day and I don’t feel so hot myself. I had planned on making another risotto, but I figured all that effort would be wasted tonight since we’re both feeling sluggish and tired and wouldn’t full appreciate the dish. I think we’re just going to order something, but the risotto will likely make an appearance this weekend.

4 responses »

  1. LOOOOVE IT!!!!!

    Hope you and Brent get well soon!

    Reply
  2. Nope! Nothing beast an oatmeal raisin!!

    These im sure a re a close second, tho 🙂

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

    Reply
  3. Yuuuuuuuum! These cookies sounds delicious!

    Reply
  4. Cranberry and orange is our fave combo for loafs and muffins so why not cookies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

