RSS Feed

Victoria makes Pierogies… (and a really big mess)

These are delicious. Just wanted to get that out these first thing, in case I only say it another 30 times in this post. Delicious. One side of my family is Polish and I remember being much younger and we would have pierogies occasionally at my grandparents house for holidays. Of course, I’ve also eaten my fair share of the frozen Mrs. T’s variety as well. I mean, they’re mashed potatoes wrapped in dough and then pan fried in butter. Obviously I love them. So today, as a consequence of having more time on my hands, I was able to make my own. These were pretty time-consuming but worth it because it made a lot.

POTATO PIEROGIES

DOUGH (I liked all the ingredients to be room temp)

  • 3-3.5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter
  • .75-1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs, beaten

FILLING

  • ~2 cups cold mashed potatoes, made however you like
  • Have a tiny bowl full of water near when you’re filling.
  1. Combine flour and salt, add in wet ingredients and mix until combined.
  2. This makes a very sticky dough, so add in a little more flour if you need to. It’s very forgiving.
  3. Dump dough onto a very well floured surface, and flatten as thin as possible, about an 1/8 of an inch. This makes a lot of dough, so work in batches if you need to.
  4. Cut out into rounds. I used a drinking glass, about 2.5-3 inches in diameter, but they can be any size you want.
  5. Place about a half tablespoon of the filling onto the round. (I totally overfill. I can’t help it. I see a tiny amount of mashed potatoes and I want to add more.)
  6. Dip your finger into the bowl of water and run it along the edge of the round.
  7. Fold over the round in half, making a half circle.
  8. Seal by crimping edges with a fork.
  9. Repeat a lot.
  10. Once all of your pierogies have been made, keep them under a damp towel to prevent drying and bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.
  11. Drop in 3-4 pierogies at a time and boil about 2-3 minutes, until they float.
  12. Using a slotted spoon, remove and place on cooling rack.
  13. Once all of them have been boiled, you can freeze or refrigerate until needed, eat them, or do my preferred method:
  14. Heat 1 tablespoon butter over medium heat.
  15. Place 3-4 pierogies in pan and cook until lightly browned and then flip and repeat for other side.
  16. This recipe make 3-4 dozen depending on size. I would say a serving size is about 3-4. I cooked about 1/3 of my batch and froze the rest for later use.
  17. ENJOY!

Here is what they looked like after filling, but before boiling. Cute little pillows of yummy mashed potatoes.

hpim20031

There was flour everywhere, including the dogs, who were loving it.

hpim2005

Here is what the final outcome after pan-frying looks like. I had a taste test this afternoon while making them.

hpim2006So, so good. (Brent thinks I say that too much). I love them, and will be keeping a permanent supply on hand in the freezer at all times. We had some for dinner with sauteed broccoli. I recommend making them if you have the time and patience. I think traditionally they are made with an equal ratio of cottage cheese and potato, but I don’t like cottage cheese. You can put whatever filling you would like in them, and I would say the whole process from start to finish took a little under 2 hours. Of course, you could scale down the recipe and make less, but you’ll regret not having any in your freezer.

I am looking for a job, but I’ve really enjoyed having the time to do things like this that I’ve always wanted to, but never quite had the time. It will definitely come in handy as I start all my holiday baking. What are everyone’s favorite holiday cookies?? I’m really trying to come up with some new and different ones for my packages.

8 responses »

  1. Pierogies = nostalgia alert for me!!

    Good luck with the job search!!

    **Favorite holiday cookies = GINGERBREAD MEN!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. Oh wow, Victoria – you have such patience! Looks great ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. I love pierogis! So very nostalgic!

    Reply
  4. My favorite holiday cookie is a cut cookie I will post soon. Yummmy.

    Anyway, I love the pierogies. I’ve actually never had one, but Mark gets the Mrs. T’s you were talking about. These look a million times better.

    Reply
  5. your pup pup is so cute. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. I make homemade Pierogis too but I use a slightly different recipe. I’ll have to compare and see if I can give you some variations! They look wonderful, I wish I had time to make some

    Reply
  7. Ahhh pierogies, I think my husband could eat his own weight in them! I haven’t made them in ages, but I certainly have a hankering to now!

    Reply
  8. I love peirogies!! I always buy frozen though cause Im a lazy lump ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply

Leave a Reply

