RSS Feed

Weekend Recap

Well, there’s not a whole lot to post about this weekend. We went to our nephew’s first birthday party yesterday, which took up nearly all day because my sister in law lives over 2.5 hours away. I’m sorry I didn’t take pictures because he is adorable! His grandparents got him a toy vacuum because he loves when his mom is vacuuming, and he spent the rest of the party wobbling around pretending to vacuum. Really too cute for words. We got home around 8 and I was exhausted so we just kind of vegged out and I watched some Law & Order. This morning the weather was nasty, so we haven’t done much. We picked up a few items from the grocery and went to lunch at the Indian buffet, pretty much assuring ourselves we won’t be hungry enough for dinner. Indian is one of those foods where I feel compelled to eat even when I’m full because I can never replicate anything that delicious at home. But I did promise myself I would attempt to try a DIY version sometime soon.

I did bake some whole wheat flax seed bread, which I didn’t photograph because it’s been on the blog enough. It looks like this. I also made some minestrone soup for upcoming lunches. My soup does not have pasta in it, and I think most do, so I may be incorrect in calling it that. However, I’ve noticed that soups with pasta in them don’t reheat as well, because the pasta gets mushy when microwaved.

hpim2031This came out really well! The last batch of broth I made was really rich in color and flavor, which I think made a huge difference to the soup, and of course, the Parmesan rind thing gives so much savory flavor. Love it!

MINESTRONE SOUP

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • Half a large onion (about 1-1.5 cups) diced
  • 1 large carrot (about .5 cups) diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small yukon gold potato (about .75 cups) diced
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 3 cups vegetable broth
  • 14oz can Italian style diced tomatoes
  • 1 14oz can cannellini beans, slightly mashed
  • 1/2 cup frozen spinach
  • 1″ Parmesan rind
  1. Heat oil over medium heat.
  2. Add onion, potato, carrot and garlic and saute about 10 minutes.
  3. Add salt, pepper and rosemary and saute another 2 minutes.
  4. Add tomatoes, broth, beans, spinach and rind.
  5. Bring to a boil, then lower heat and simmer 15 minutes or so.
  6. Remove rind before serving.
  7. Garnish with shredded Parmesan if desired.

I NEED HELP!!! I have a party to attend this saturday and I’m responsible for the evening’s food! The food needs to be vegetarian but satisifying to some people who eat things like a grilled chicken breast and steamed broccoli for dinner. I’m planning on a fairly hearty main course type thing, as well as a bunch of snacks and dips, but I have nothing decided. I welcome any and all ideas. 🙂

5 responses »

  1. Still sounds like a lovely weekend to me! 🙂

    **For the food = how about chili, pasta… something with beans for sure, since it’ll be a heartier, “meatier” dish.

    Reply
  2. What about Greek food — tons of appetizer options, plus spinach pie, which is always a hit, if you ask me!

    Reply
  3. minestrone soup is the perfect comfort food. im snowed in right now and that looks like the perfect meal!

    Reply
  4. The soup looks great! What about diffetent kinds of pizzas? Lots of bean dips, too, with veggies and hearty crackers for dipping.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Catching Up is Hard to Do « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

