RSS Feed

Getting Started

I have so many things to bake this week for gifts, and rather than bake everything on Friday for my parties on Saturday, I decided to prepare the doughs ahead of time and freeze until I need them. This morning’s project was to prepare the dough logs for Chocolate Peppermint Pinwheels. I love mint and chocolate together – It is absolutely my favorite flavor combination ever. I blame my mother. Rumor has it that she ate quite a lot of mint chocolate chip ice cream when she was pregnant with me. I made this pinwheel cookie recipe last year, and thought it was really good. I make my mint layer green not red. I guess I just assume green means minty.

hpim2035

I doubled the recipe, so I made 2 logs. Obviously my layers did not totally match up, but it was close enough for me. Once the dough was rolled, I wrapped it in plastic wrap and then again in aluminum foil, and put them in the freezer. I’m planning on moving them to the fridge to defrost on Thursday and then baking on Friday.

hpim2038

Of course, I’ll post the final results once I get to them. I have a few other doughs to try to make this afternoon and tomorrow. I’m hoping to make some risotto for dinner tonight, but Brent is still pretty sick, so I don’t know if he’ll be up for it or not.

2 responses »

  1. OOOOH!!!

    Hang in there with the sickness (both you and Brent)!!

    Reply
  2. You are making me excited to start my Christmas baking!
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

