RSS Feed

Roasted Butternut Squash Risotto

Tonight’s dinner was something I’ve been looking forward to for a week! It did not disappoint. It was delicious and creamy, but slightly less rich tasting than my previous attempt at risotto. Making it slightly less rich meant I could handle eating more of it, which was great.

hpim2045

ROASTED BUTTERNUT SQUASH RISOTTO

  • 1.5 cups butternut squash, diced to about 1/2-3/4″
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, divided
  • 2 tablespoon butter, divided
  • 1/2 cup onion, finely diced
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • ~2/3 cup arborio rice
  • 1/3 cup white wine
  • 2 cups vegetable broth, heated up and simmering on the stove-top
  • 1/4-1/3 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • chopped parsley for garnish
  1. Preheat oven to 400.
  2. Toss cubed squash with 1 tablespoon olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper to coat.
  3. Cook squash on a baking sheet for approx 18 minutes until tender.
  4. While squash is cooking, heat 1 tablespoon oil and 1 tablespoon butter over medium-low heat.
  5. Add onion and garlic to oil and butter and cook, slowly stirring, for about 10 minutes, until onion is soft, but not browned.
  6. Add rice to onion and saute while stirring for 1-2 minutes.
  7. Add white wine to rice and raise heat to medium.
  8. Once wine is almost absorbed, add 1 ladle of broth, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, and stir until full absorbed by rice.
  9. Continue adding ladles of broth until rice is full cooked.
  10. Once rice is properly cooked, very slightly al dente, add in squash, cheese and remaining tablespoon of butter and stir until incorporated.
  11. Put a lid on the pot and let rest 2 minutes.
  12. Ladle risotto into 2 bowls and sprinkle with a tiny bit of cheese, and some parsley.

This was really good! I was a big fan of it. I think Brent liked it too, so I’m sure I’ll be making it again sometime.  Risotto is so not difficult. The first time I made it, I was focused really intently, but this time I was much more at ease. I stir pretty frequently, but I cooked this entire meal in a half hour while talking on gmail chat to my best friend, so clearly once you get the hang of it, it’s no big deal.

I want to thank you for your suggestions for the party food! Brent really likes the idea of doing a few different types of pizzas, but I thought Spanakopita sounded good, so I may do pizzas, but have one be a spinach pie inspired pizza. This weekend is going to be BUSY! My brother is getting home for a 2 week Christmas exodus from basic training on Friday and we’re having a get together with all my cousins Friday night, then Saturday is cookie baking day, and Saturday night I have a party with my college friends, and finally on Sunday my mom is having people over to her house as an early Christmas/welcome home for Matt kind of thing. I’m looking forward to it, but I’m sure I’ll be exhausted when it’s over.

Since Brent is still pretty useless, we’re just laying on the couch watching a documentary called Wordplay, about crossword puzzle constructors and solvers and an annual tournament. It’s pretty interesting actually, and these constructors are pretty mind-blowing. See you for more cookie dough-making tomorrow!

5 responses »

  1. Lovely dish!!

    Can’t wait to see the cookie dough-making!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Saving this recipe…

    Reply
  3. Pingback: “Christmas” Dinner 2008, Part 2: Dinner, Dessert and Games « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

