RSS Feed

Chocolate-Topped Cashew Toffee

AMAZING!!! I should mention that toffee is Brent’s sweet of choice. He likes those toffee baking chips in his cookies, and he loves the coffee heath bar crunch flavor of Ben & Jerry’s. So I thought a brittle or toffee candy would make a nice addition to my gift baking, to break up the monotony of all cookies. I had already decided to make some cashew brittle, when I stumbled across this recipe for Chocolate Peanut Toffee. I just decided to make the latter, with cashews. I also added more chocolate because… well, because it’s chocolate.

hpim2093

I am so glad I had Brent’s help on this one! I, undoubtedly, would have burned myself with the massive quantities of boiling butter and sugar. Once the toffee is ready, it goes quick! It cools rather rapidly, so we both had to work quickly in order to spread it out as much as possible. Thus, there are no photos of that part of the process.

This is so addictive. Buttery and sweet and salty all at once. My fear now is that I may have to live with it my house longer than I anticipated. The weather reports are looking grim, and it sounds like a trip to Chicago may not be in the cards for us this weekend, so I’m not sure when I’ll be giving away all the goodies I’ve been making. My batch of the recipe made 2 12×9″ pans worth of the toffee.

CHOCOLATE-TOPPED CASHEW TOFFEE

  • 6 sticks butter, diced
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 30oz whole roasted and salted cashews
  • ~6oz chopped cashews for topping
  • 22oz dark chocolate chips
  1. Melt butter in large stockpot.
  2. Add sugar and stir to dissolve.
  3. Bring to a boil and simmer for approximately 20 minutes until it darkens to a golden brown color. (A lot of recipes recommend a candy thermometer, and waiting until the temp is 300, which is probably a good idea, but I could not find my candy thermometer, so I just went with my intuition to know when it was done)
  4. Add it the whole cashews and stir to coat.
  5. Pour mixture onto two buttered sheet pans. You can use bigger pans than I did for a thinner toffee.
  6. Using a silicone spatula, spread the mixture to cover the pans as quickly as possible.
  7. Wait 1 minute and dump the chocolate chips onto the toffee  in an even layer.
  8. Wait 3-5 minutes until chocolate has softened and melted slightly. Use a spatula to spread the chocolate over the toffee.
  9. Sprinkle chopped cashews onto the chocolate.
  10. Place pans in the refrigerator to cool completely.
  11. Once the toffee is hardened, use a knife to cut into smaller pieces.
  12. Enjoy!
11 responses »

  1. I’ve baked 6 Christmas cookie recipes in the past 3 days, all while working late, so I’ve had to pick very simple recipes. These blow all mine out of the water!
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

    Reply
  2. yeah that is seriously too delicious to even look at. i went to your page and went NOOOOOOO DON’T LET ME SEE SUCH DELICIOUS LOOKING CHOCOLATE andhad to shield my eyes haha

    Reply
  3. runjess, Yes, unemployment breeds more complicated baking adventures. 🙂

    Reply
  4. All I really want to say is yum. Are you sure you want to be a nurse? I think you should open a bakery/candy shop!

    Reply
  5. Oh man, I’m sitting here drooling.

    Reply
  6. This toffee is outstanding. I agree vicki should sell these items. They are unbelievable. Kathy

    Reply
  7. The noodles look so good. The picture of Brent and your mother is priceless.

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Whole Wheat Overnight Bread « The Idle Loaf

  9. Pingback: Cheered Up! « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

