RSS Feed

Christmas Breakfast Biscuits

Last night at my in-laws, when I told my mother-in-law that I was making Brent some biscuits for his Christmas morning biscuits & gravy, she patted me on the back and said “You’ve come a long way.” I believe she may have been referring to the first Christmas I spent at their house, like 4 years ago, when they all had biscuits and gravy for breakfast and I kind of just stared at them.

Unfortunately, right when I woke up and came into the kitchen this morning, I remembered that my mother was still in possession of my Kitchen-aid mixer from cookie-baking day. Oh no! I figured people have been making biscuits without a mixer for years, so I should be able to handle it. It sucked. I also do not own a pastry cutter, so there I was Christmas morning, two butter knives in hand, trying to cut the butter into the biscuit dough while my husband found a camera and said “let’s take a picture of Victoria making old-timey biscuits.” At least I was wearing my cute new apron.

hpim2274

Luckily the biscuits seemed relatively unharmed, and tasted delicious. Although, I think they turned out flakier last time.

hpim2291

To go with the biscuits, Brent made gravy, which I obviously had nothing to do with. The sausage was pretty gross, although it did smell pretty good.

hpim2276

That sausage eventually turned into gravy, to top the biscuits.

hpim2285

I just had some biscuits and eggs. Gravy, *shudders*, is just not my thing. To go with the biscuits, we also had the Monroe family tradition, or at least our tradition until we have kids, according to Brent. Mimosas! Unfortunately, we always seem to lose or break our champagne flutes. So here they are in our wine glasses. Delicious!

hpim22831

And… I got an awesome Christmas gift from Brent: a 7 quart cast iron dutch oven! I have been wanting one forever and I am so excited! Brent of course, likes to torture me, so he pretended he didn’t get me anything, and I believed him (it’s not that far-fetched).

hpim2280

The dogs also got some gifts. I think we have officially proven beyond a reasonable doubt that Larry cannot have nice things:

hpim2273

Here he is introducing himself to his new best friend, Mr. Pufferchucker. All of his stuffed animals have ridiculous names.

hpim2290

He proudly surveys the damage he has caused.

hpim2275

We didn’t even know Mr. Pufferchucker had a tube inside him, but Larry managed to find it and pull it out. The pufferchucker squeaks no more.

Merry Christmas everyone!

2 responses »

  1. LOVE the biscuits; and SCORE on the new dutch oven!!!

    Aww, Larry, haha!! šŸ˜€

    Merry Christmas, Victoria!!!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict | The Idle Loaf Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict | Just another girl who needs bread

Leave a Reply

