RSS Feed

Fresh From the Freezer

Posted on

We got through all of last week with no grocery shopping. No easy feat for me. This was definitely cost effective, but so boring. I scrounged around in the freezer to come up with dinner for last night and tonight. Unfortunately now my freezer is nearly bare, so I’ll have to replenish it soon with some make ahead things. Last night we had Spaghetti with Mushroom Marinara. We had 2 cups of cremini mushrooms in the fridge that needed to be used immediately, so I sauteed them and then added about 2 cups of frozen and thawed marinara. I usually like to make a big batch of sauce based on Giada’s recipe to just have in the freezer for occasions such as these.

hpim2475

It’s not visually appealing, and it’s pretty boring, but it gets the job done. I wasn’t in the mood for it, but it actually hit the spot. Brent agrees. I think the mushrooms made it meatier in texture. For dinner tonight, I roasted some green beans from my family’s visit last weekend that were definitely on their last legs and thawed and sauteed some pierogies. These pierogies were time-consuming when I made them, but it’s been so nice having them in the freezer. I think I need to make more. I only have like 6 or so left.

hpim2487

Both of these dinners were pretty delicious considering their ease. However, I am happy to report we finally went grocery shopping, managed to stay under budget and get some good stuff, so there be slightly more interesting meals in the blog’s future.

One response »

  1. Hooray for Giada inspiration and for food-shopping!! šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

