RSS Feed

Under the Influence

Posted on

Well, as some of you out in blogland may have noticed, hummus platters have been all the rage in the food blog arena, so I guess I was under the influence when I bought hummus yesterday (plus it was freakishly on sale). Tonight’s dinner was just vegetable hummus, a variety of chopped veggies and pita chips. I made the pita chips by cutting some whole wheat pitas into triangles, spraying them with some canola oil, sprinkling with salt and garam masala and baking for about 8 minutes in a 400 degree oven. The pitas were definitely my favorite part of the meal. I think they’ll be making another appearance later on this week.

hpim2490

On another note, today for lunch after my run, I had a new smoothie. Normally I stick with a smoothie made from a banana, a handful of frozen berries, milk and maybe a scoop of protein powder, but when I was grocery shopping, the frozen berries seemed expensive and I was desperately trying to stay under our budget. In the produce section I noticed cantaloupe were on sale, at a great price, so I bought 2 of those, cubed them up and flash froze them. I thought a smoothie made from cantaloupe might be weird, and I was right, but it was so much cheaper. So into the blender this afternoon went one banana, a big handful of frozen cantaloupe and a cup of milk. It actually tastes really good, but it still felt weird to me that the smoothie tasted like melon. Perhaps I should branch out more. Guess that story doesn’t really have a point, but I felt the need to share anyway. What does everyone else put in their smoothies? I love them because I never feel like eating after a run, or any other serious aerobic activity, but I know I should eat something, so a smoothie is one of my go to meals.

See you tomorrow with a new (to me) dinner recipe.

2 responses »

  1. I drink 3 protein shakes/smoothies everyday – here’s my recipe:

    – 1 cup hempmilk

    – 4 tablespoons (one serving) hemp protein powder

    – 2 cups frozen fruit

    Here’s my other recipes:

    http://veggiegirlvegan.blogspot.com/2008/05/smooth-sailing.html

    Reply
  2. That looks a so much like my lunch for today! I love hummus platters because they take forever to eat at my desk at work.
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

