RSS Feed

Curry & Couscous

Posted on

Tonight for dinner I made Chickpea & Spinach Curry from Vegan With a Vengeance. I liked it. A lot. It was one of those meals where, at first bite, I thought “This is pretty good,” and then I kept eating and I was like “Yeah, this is very tasty.” I will note however, that Brent thought it was a bit too salty, which is absurd considering the man adds a teaspoon of salt to nearly everything I make. I did not not notice a significant salt excess, but next time I make it (this will be a make again), I will cut the salt down a bit. I couldn’t find the recipe online, but I’m sure someone else has posted it on their blog somewhere. I feel good recommending that you make it. I served with a side of golden couscous. I can’t make rice, so I’m focusing on other grain side dishes for now.
hpim2496

I was watching Oprah today (a perk of having a 3 hour workday) and she of course was talking about how mad she was at herself for gaining her weight back, and how embarrassed she was to stand next to Tina Turner, and her basic message was that it is not an issue with her weight, it is an issue with her not loving herself enough to make time for herself to be healthy. I’m not sure that all of it can be explained by not loving oneself, but I do think there is definite truth to the idea of people not putting themselves first. It may seem selfish if you do it from a vanity standpoint, but when you switch it to doing it for your health, I think it makes it seem more essential for a woman to make time for herself.

I was talking to my mom about her desire to get healthy this year, and she, like a lot of women, has always looked at it from the view of “I want to lose X number of pounds,” and I’m never sure where the X number comes from. Always seems kind of arbitrary to me. I don’t think that’s a good strategy, because it makes it hard for her and other busy moms to keep their goal a priority. Whereas, this year, she is looking at it from the standpoint of, “I want to lower my cholesterol by X number of points to improve my cardiovascular health,” and I think that puts the focus back on health, and makes it easier to force herself to carve out time for exercise, meal planning or whatever tools she needs. I’ve noticed the same problem in a lot of other women I know, so it was just something that was on my mind this afternoon. Speaking of that, we’re off to the gym now, assuming we can find parking spot.

3 responses »

  1. Delish!!

    Have fun at the gym!!

    Reply
  2. I love chickpea curry and thought about making it yesterday. Your blog is reading my mind today!
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

    Reply
  3. Yeah, I think you’re right! Sometimes it’s important to put yourself first. I think a lot of weight issues are emotional, but that’s just me.

    Dinner, as always, looks wonderful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

