RSS Feed

Becoming a Favorite

Posted on

Tonight’s dinner was a pasta dish we’ve had before: Anchovies in Tomato Sauce with Pasta from Jamie’s Italy. It’s so quick and easy to make, and relatively inexpensive too. Brent loves anchovies. I think they’re just fine, but they work so well in this recipe. It’s got sweet from the raisins, saltiness, and nuttiness, and then the crunch from the bread crumbs. A ton of flavor, I think. I modify the recipe only slightly by using about half the bread crumbs and pasta suggested per person, and using whole wheat pasta and panko bread crumbs because that’s what’s always in our pantry. It’s a really good recipe.I think the cookbook is actually really good. I don’t own it, but I’ve checked it out from the library and everything I’ve made from it has been so flavorful and easy.

hpim2514

The breadcrumbs are a definite necessity to this dish I think, but you certainly don’t need nearly 2 cups of them for 4 people. I used about 1/3 cup for the two of us. As you eat the pasta, the bread crumbs kind of scatter and attach themselves all along the strands of pasta, making every bite just a little bit crunchy. I just really like how the whole dish seems much greater than the sum of its parts.

My run is out of the way already (I hate going at night. I much prefer to check it off my mental list first thing), so I’m going to get comfortable, watch the Biggest Loser, and then do a Yoga Download with Brent before bed. Have a great night!

One response »

  1. Looks great!! Love the addition of the raisins.

    Hooray for yoga!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

