RSS Feed

Honey Oatmeal Bread

Posted on

I made this last night, because I like honey whole wheat bread, but I was also in possession of a container of oats. Unlike a lot of food bloggers, I actually don’t like oatmeal. I know, I know. I’m a freak. Anyway, so I figured, putting the oats in bread would be a nice use of them. The bread tastes great, but I wasn’t really factoring in the honey when I baked it, so it darkened more than I would like. Next time I would cover it with foil for part of the baking. I like breads with a faint sweetness to them.

hpim2504

HONEY OATMEAL BREAD

  • 1 packet, ~2.25 teaspoons, active dry yeast
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup oats
  • ~2-2.5 cups whole wheat flour
  1. Dissolve sugar and yeast in warm and rest 10 minutes until foamy.
  2. Add oil through oats and mix thoroughly.
  3. Add in flour 1/4 cup at a time until doughy forms a mass that is slightly stiff and not too sticky. You may not need all the flour.
  4. Knead about 10 minutes in stand mixer.
  5. Form into a ball and place in a greased bowl.
  6. Let rise ~90 minutes until double.
  7. Deflate and let rise until double again, about an hour.
  8. Preheat oven to 400.
  9. Deflate dough and roll dough into an 8 inch wide rectangle.
  10. Firmly roll dough into an 8inch wide log, pinching seams together, and place into a greased loaf pan.
  11. Bake for approximately 35-40 minutes.
  12. Cool completely and enjoy!
4 responses »

  1. oatmeal is alright. I dont flip out for it like everyone else seems to, though.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

    Reply
  2. This looks super good. But I love oats no matter what form they’re in 🙂

    Reply
  3. Hi,
    Love your site! Made the honey oatmeal bread and
    it came out great. Just curious… have you made or
    do you have a recipe for an olive loaf bread.

    thanks!
    jan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

