RSS Feed

Getting Snowed In

Posted on

I was very excited to make some wonderful scallop pasta dish last night, but I realized I was out of a lot of ingredients I assumed I had on hand. So, I made due, but it wasn’t very exciting. I used the rest of a can of whole tomatoes with some basil, oregano and garlic to make a tomato sauce, added a dash of red wine (because wine sauces always taste good), threw in the scallops and added some spaghetti. It did the job. I thought it tasted fairly good. I liked the sauce, but it wasn’t an overall amazing dish.

hpim2540

Moving on to more exciting things: Friday Night Cocktail. Brent picked this week’s drink, which was Lynchburg Lemonade, made with Jack Daniel’s, triple sec, Lemon juice, simple syrup, and finished with lemon-lime soda. It was good. We really like Fresh Whiskey Sours, and this was very similar, except sweeter.

hpim2547

I had one of these while we watched Capote, and then because it was 10PM on a Friday night, and I’m 23 going on 60, we did a crossword puzzle in bed and I passed out.

I woke up this morning to snow, and a lot more of it coming down. Because I’m a wuss and hate driving in snow, I switched my workout schedule around and made today a cross-training day and did 30 minutes on our elliptical. This was the most boring 30 minutes of my life. I had my iPod, but I guess without the subtle people-watching to distract me at the gym, I was so bored, mostly staring at a bookcase full of Brent’s old computer science textbooks. I used to watch TV while on the elliptical, but because we cancelled cable the TV doesn’t work upstairs. However, I guess my husband is smarter than I am because he hooked the DVD player up to that TV and is now watching (and repeating the lines to) the Simpsons on DVD while he does the elliptical. NERD! 🙂 Anyway, now I’m enjoying a smoothie made with banana, cantaloupe, milk and soy protein.The cantaloupe smoothie has kind of grown on me this week. I like it a lot now.

hpim2550

The snow is supposed to continue all day and the weathermen are predicting we end up with 4 to 9 inches, so I won’t be leaving the house today (and I’m hoping Brent will do the shoveling). Luckily I have a few ingredients in the house, and I’m planning to make something from Veganomicon later tonight for dinner. I hope you all have a great weekend!

3 responses »

  1. Snowed in like WHOA here!! Stay warm!!

    Hooray for Veganomicon!! One of my all-time favorite cookbooks.

    Happy Saturday!!

    Reply
  2. where are your adorable polka-dot glasses from?

    Reply
  3. Emily, they’re from Target I think. They came in a set of four. One is polka dot, and some have stripes-Different designs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

